Skip to main content

Copyright Guide for Faculty and Staff

Posting in Brightspace

To post content that is protected by copyright in the Learning Management system the work must:

When making an e-article or information that is available from the open web accessible to your students linking can be a great way to provide content through the LMS.

Remember to:

  • cite your sources
  • make the content inaccessible to your students once the course is finished

Electronic Book and Article Use in Brightspace

The Patrick Power Library, individually and through consortia, signs licensing agreements with publishers and vendors for access to electronic resources such as e-books, e-journals and databases. These agreements control the use of the resources and material accessed through them. "Terms of Use" can be found on each database site, as well as in the library catalog display below each title (see below for further details). Permissions vary by title and publisher. Linking in Brightspace to a licensed article or e-book is always a good option to explore, and may be permitted, even when posting copies of the content is not an option. Any questions about the use that can be made of electronic content should be referred to the library.

Please note: Material can also be posted in Brightspace if the license permits and if the requirements for an educational exception have been met.

E-books:

E-books may be displayed and read on the computer screen. E-book software restricts printing or downloading of E-book materials to a small portion of the complete e-book. We are licensed to display e-books to class groups for teaching and study purposes. Some copying may be permitting depending on license restrictions. In some cases e-books may also be downloaded to a portable e-book reader for a specified period of time. However, such e-books still may carry some restrictions.

Using any means to print or download more than allowed small portions of e-books is not permitted. Sequential or systematic downloading of small portions in order to download complete works is not permitted.

E-book and E-journal publishers monitor all use of their licensed content by internet address. They will discontinue campus access if they see evidence of downloading of complete works. The University is obliged to take action to prevent unauthorized copying or downloading of e-books.

Electronic journal articles:

Databases permit the printing of individual journal articles for teaching, study and research. In many cases, journal articles from licensed databases may be copied and distributed for classroom use. However, the systematic downloading or copying of sets of journal articles is a license violation and is not permitted. Electronic journal articles can also be linked to in Brightspace. Please see below for tips on linking.

Copyright Obligations:

License restrictions on the use of e-books and e-journal articles are in addition to the regular copyright restrictions which must be observed. Canadian copyright protections do not permit the copying of complete books or complete journal volumes. Individual articles and small portions of books may be copied for individual study and research. Faculty copying class sets or making electronic copies for classroom use should seek guidance from the library to ensure that they are complying with copyright obligations.

Linking

Linking in Brightspace to a licensed article, e-book or legitimate web resource is always a good option to explore, and may be permitted, even when posting copies of the content is not an option. See below for further details on how to link from specific resources.

If you are linking to web resources other than those posted by the University, please ensure that the site is a legitimate site that has the right to post the information they are displaying. Do not link to any sites that are infringing on copyright.

Persistent Links & Stable URLs

Where possible, an alternative to providing copies of articles from licensed electronic databases is to provide your students with a permalink. Look for the red arrow (below) to locate the permalink in several of our most popular databases.

Continue reading below for instructions on adding a simple script to your permalink. This will ensure your students will be able to access the articles from off-campus.

 

Locating the permalink in popular databases.

  • EBSCO databases

  • Proquest databases

  • ScienceDirect databases

  • JSTOR databases

 

To create a URL to licensed material that can be accessed off campus:

  1. Find the permalink in the record displayed in the database. (Ex. http://smu.worldcat.org/oclc/480835916)
  2. Then paste this code http://library.smu.ca:2048/login?url= in front of the permalink (Ex. http://library.smu.ca:2048/login?url=http://smu.worldcat.org/oclc/480835916
  3. Provide this full link to students attempting to access the electronic materials from off-campus
  4. If you have any problems creating or accessing a link please contact the library for further assistance

Disclaimer

Please note: This guide does not provide legal advice. It is intented to give guidance about acceptable use of copyright protected materials.