Subject & Research Guides: Sociology: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

The Canadian Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Sociology Research
This book presents current research and findings in the study of sociology. Topics discussed include social capital, entrepreneurial capital and economic growth; disruption of social development in children with autism spectrum disorders; children's social interactions in cultural context; everyday theorizing and the construction of knowledge; participation, pedagogy and practice in design education; community participation in formulating sustainable forest policy; increasing the economic sustainability of online communities and a comparison between theoretical and naive definitions of community.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Contains new information on well-known subjects, including surprising facts that may counter common assumptions and research in areas of study where the impact of gender has been traditionally overlooked·
Encyclopedia of Gerontology
Explores the many influences that bring change to individuals over the life span. Influences range from genetics to physiology, sociology, psychology, and anthropology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
An authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of leading experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development, education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.
Sociology: The Key Concepts
An A-Z guide to the full range of sociological thought, bringing together an international range of highly regarded contributors from the full spectrum of disciplines.
Sociology of Work: An Encyclopedia
How did it come about that work dominates so many parts of our lives and our psyche? This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects that seek to address that question, ranging from business and management to anthropology, sociology, social history, psychology, politics, economics, and health.
Studying Society: The Essentials
Combines study skills and research methods to provide students with an invaluable guide to techniques, practical skills and methods of study.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements	HN 57 E594 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work	HV 12 C36 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society	HQ 767.84 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Community	HM 756 E53 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminology	HV 6017 E5295 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies	GN 495.6 C37 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America	HV 12 E497 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities	GN 495.4 E63 2005 REF
Handbook of Death and Dying	HQ 1073 H36 2003 REF
Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural and Historical Encyclopedia	HQ 1090.3 M436 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement	H 62 E53 2005 REF