The following databases are suggested starting points for research in TESL. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
Indexes journal articles and other publications in the field of education, covering 1966 to present. For comprehensive results, search both versions of ERIC.
Indexes journal articles and other publications in the field of education, covering 1966 to present. For comprehensive results, search both versions of ERIC.
Over 1,700 journals in the humanities and social sciences. Over 700 journals in science and technology.
Key index to international scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage from the early 20th century to the present. Links to full-text in JSTOR and Project MUSE.
A guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases from across the English-speaking world.
Multi-disciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Key index to scholarship in psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
There are two ways to access ERIC. Each version indexes a large collection of journals and non-journal sources in the field of education, covering 1966 to present. For comprehensive results, search both versions of ERIC.
ERIC (via ProQuest): The ProQuest version of ERIC is subscribed to by SMU (login is required when accessing off-campus).
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education): This is the free version of ERIC (no login required) sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences in the U.S. Department of Education.