Skip to main content

Faculty Information Guide

A guide to services and support provided by the Patrick Power Library for Faculty at Saint Mary's University

Reference & Research Services (420-5544 / 420-5540)

Research Support for Students

Support is provided to individuals requiring assistance in the use of the Library's print and electronic resources. While most students stop by the Research Help Desk for assistance, the Library offers a Research-by-Appointment service for in-depth assistance, especially for specific research difficulties. Librarians will assist students in the use of complex library tools, to begin a thesis or a major research paper, or to find information on a topic. To schedule an appointment, visit the Research Help Desk or phone 420-5544.

Research Support for Faculty

The Research-by-Appointment service is also available to faculty who would like to discuss their research initiatives, new course proposals and the resources available to support them. To schedule an appointment, visit the Research Help Desk or phone 420-5544.

Statistics Canada Data Resources

Many interactive and aggregated statistical resources are now searchable and downloadable directly from the Statistics Canada website. If the Statistics Canada website requires money to access a product, check with Reference and Research Services before paying (420-5544).

The library provides free access for research purposes to a large collection of Public Use Microdata Files via the Statistics Canada's Data Liberation Initiative (DLI). Self-serve access for some of these datasets is available via the Nesstar data portal. StatCan and other business and economic data resources are linked on the library’s Statistics and Data Research Guide.  Contact Joyce Thomson (joyce.thomson@smu.ca / 420-5549) for more information or to schedule a data consultation.

Student Assignments

Students often turn to library staff for assistance with assignments, particularly those they find confusing. It has been our experience that students do not always assimilate in-class instructions regarding assignment requirements. Please alert Reference and Research staff to assignments involving large classes, particularly when the assignment may draw on limited research resources. Copies of assignments may be forwarded to Nicole Carter, Reference and Research Librarian (nicole.carter@smu.ca / 420-5540).

Databases

The Library subscribes to numerous indexes and full-text databases, accessible through the campus-wide network and through the Library website. Selected databases have restrictive licenses that prohibit networking. To learn more about Library databases and their availability, or to discuss difficulties accessing full-text items, please contact the Research Help Desk (420-5544).

For more information on the Library’s Reference and Research services, please contact Nicole Carter (nicole.carter@smu.ca / 420-5540).

Loading ...