Subject & Research Guides: Global Development Studies: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

Dictionary of Human Rights
First Published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Economic Development
This highly accessible undergraduate textbook written by a scholar active in economic research in developing countries, is replete with real-world examples.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism
This reference source offers nearly 100,000 words of new material, along with completely updated original entries, expanded coverage of critical topics, and new photos and illustrations.
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
This comprehensive reference includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Encyclopedia of the Developing World	HC 59.7 E52 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity	HV 6322.7 E532 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Globalization	JZ 1318 E63 2007 REF
Encyclopedia of International Development	HD 82 E547 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist Groups	HN 49 R33 A85 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History	GF 10 E63 2004 REF
Europa World Year Book	JN 1 E85 2012 REF
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights	JC 571 M3243 2000 REF
Political Handbook of the World	JF 37 P6 2012 REF
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women	HQ 1115 R69 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of World Poverty	HV 12 E54 2006 REF
World Development Indicators	HC 59.69 W62 REF