It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics & Data
Statistical and data resources available at Saint Mary's University, including Statistics Canada, business and international sources
GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) which provides geospatial data at no cost and without restrictions via your Web browser.
Provides access to over 300 datasets on a variety of topics within the categories of business & economy, social services, government administration, nature & environment. Data can be sorted and graphed.
The largest and most comprehensive registry of data repositories available on the web (1500 repositories to date), searchable by keywords and geography. Covers a wide range of disciplines from around the world.
U.S. Government’s open data - find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
The largest and most comprehensive registry of data repositories available on the web (1500 repositories to date), searchable by keywords and geography. Covers a wide range of disciplines from around the world.
Open data is information that is provided by public entities to be accessed and reused. Publishing open data is an excellent way to improve an organization’s transparency and provide insight into the value of the organization. Libraries are uniquely positioned to assist their patrons in the use of open data by making them aware of it and helping them access and use it. This article provides a short history of open data and explores ways that library trailblazers are already using open data as well as contributing open data for others to use. Getting started with open data involves identifying key open data resources such as data.gov, identifying library information that would be beneficial to publish, and creating programs that provide digital literacy training and create opportunities for patrons to engage with open data in new and creative ways.
"Just as literacy refers to “the ability to read for knowledge, write coherently and think critically about printed material” data-literacy is the ability to consume for knowledge, produce coherently and think critically about data. Data literacy includes statistical literacy but also understanding how to work with large data sets, how they were produced, how to connect various data sets and how to interpret them. ... Even if you lack any knowledge of math or stats, you can easily become a seasoned data-journalist by asking 3 very simple questions.
The Data Literacy Project provides resources to assess and improve your data literacy skills, for both individuals and organizations. The Data Literacy Index addresses corporate data literacy across international markets.
