Subject & Research Guides: Biology: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences
A multi-faceted reference work that addresses the core knowledge, theories, and techniques employed by plant scientists, while also concentrating on applications of these in research and in industry.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
Covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation and applications of animal behavior.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
A comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
A compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought
This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors, and influence on the great evolutionist Charles Darwin.
Ecological Systems: Selected Entries from the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Provides an ecological systems perspective on the vital question of how to cope with climate change and the global human population explosion Includes a glossary of key terms and a concise definition of the subject for each contribution.
Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions
This encyclopedia illuminates a topic at the forefront of global ecology-biological invasions, or organisms that come to live in the wrong place.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Ainsworth & Bisby's Dictionary of the Fungi	QK 600.35 A35 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics	QH 427 R 43 2008 REF
Dictionary of Parasitology	QL 757 G73 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Agriculture, Food and Biological Engineering	TP 368.2 E57 2011 REF
Encyclopedia of Animal Behaviour	QL 750.3 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity	QH 541.15 B56 E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Entomology	QL 462.3 E47 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Microbiology	QR 9 E53 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Toxicology	RA 1193 E53 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History	GF 10 E63 2004 REF
Gray's Anatomy	QM 23.2 G73 2005 REF
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia	QL 3 G7813 REF