Subject & Research Guides: Environmental Science/Studies: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Ecology
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Provides an ecological systems perspective on the vital question of how to cope with climate change and the global human population explosion Includes a glossary of key terms and a concise definition of the subject for each contribution.
Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology
Extreme Environmental Events: Complexity in Forecasting and Early Warning

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy	GE 42 E553 2009 REF
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology	GE 10 P67 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity	QH 541.15 B56 E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation	GE 10 E49 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change	GE 149 E443 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History	GF 10 E63 2004 REF
The Environmental Encyclopedia	GE 10 E58 2003 REF
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences	QE 5 M363 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Geobiology	QH 343.4 E53 2011 REF
Standard Handbook of Environmental Science, Health and Technology	GE 123 S73 2000 REF
World Environmental Databook	HC 79 E5 W66 2006 REF