Subject & Research Guides: Criminology: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook
This reference handbook provides straightforward and definitive overviews to 100 key topics in criminology and criminal justice.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
From boot camps to truancy, this encyclopedia provides more than 200 up-to-date, concise and readable entries in a single volume.
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education
A comprehensive source on the law of higher education. Includes excerpts from key court cases.
Forensic Investigation Handbook: An Introduction to the Collection, Preservation, Analysis and Presentation of Evidence
Outlines the general principles of forensic science including an overview of the history of forensic science, an introduction to ballistics, crime scene investigation techniques as well as evidence gathering, processing and documentation procedures.
Handbook of International Law
A concise account of international law by an experienced practitioner, this book explains how states and international organisations, especially the United Nations, make and use international law. The nature of international law and its fundamental concepts and principles are described.
Student Handbook of Criminal Justice And Criminology
Discusses crime and criminology in relation to the media, race, Islam, gender and politics, and considers all the relevant theoretical debates that dominate criminology. Chapters on the police, courts, probation and prisons are included, along with more theoretical chapters regarding crime prevention, youth justice, and restorative and informal justice. The Handbook also includes comparative materials and international criminal courts.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

American Dictionary of Criminal Justice	HV 7411 C48 2005 REF
Contemporary Critical Criminology	HV 6019 .D45 2022
Dictionary of Canadian Law	KE 183 D83 2011 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminology	HV 6017 E5295 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory	HV 6017 E527 2010 REF
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention	HV 6250.3 U5 E55 2010 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminology & Deviant Behavior	HV 6017 E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Psychology & Law	K 346 E53 2008 REF
Encyclopedia of Rape	HV 6558 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of White Collar and Corporate Crime	HV 6768 E63 2005 REF
Greening Criminology in the 21st Century	HV 6401 .G746 2018
Martin's Annual Criminal Code	KE 8804.52 M3 2012 REF