Subject & Research Guides: Forensic Sciences: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Comparative Osteology: A Laboratory and Field Guide of Common North American Animals
A comprehensive photographic guide for use by experienced archaeologists and forensic scientists to distinguish human remains from a range of common animal species.
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
A compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences
Provides comprehensive coverage of the core theories, methods, techniques, and applications employed by forensic scientists.
Forensic Investigation Handbook: An Introduction to the Collection, Preservation, Analysis and Presentation of Evidence
Outlines the general principles of forensic science including an overview of the history of forensic science, an introduction to ballistics, crime scene investigation techniques as well as evidence gathering, processing and documentation procedures.
Forensic Science: An Illustrated Dictionary
Introduces commonly-used forensic terms, many of which are crucial to the interpretation and understanding of laboratory report findings
Fundamentals of Forensic Anthropology
Serves as a summary and guide to the core material that needs to be mastered and evaluated for the practice of forensic anthropology.
Handbook of Digital and Multimedia Forensic Evidence
Tying together topics as diverse as applicable laws on search and seizure, investigating cybercrime, and preparation for courtroom testimony, Handbook of Digital and Multimedia Forensic Evidence is an overall reference for this multi-faceted discipline.
Handbook of Forensic Sociology and Psychology
The Handbook of Forensic Sociology and Psychology opens out this increasingly important field for criminologists, and gives researchers in forensic psychology and sociology clear insights into challenges and opportunities facing these fields.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Forensic Science	HV 8073 W55 2009 REF
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science	HV 8073 C595 2002 REF
Gray's Anatomy	QM 23.2 .G73 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Psychology & Law	K 346 E53 2008 REF
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology	GN 50.3 S74 1991 GEN
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics	QD 65 H3 2017/18 REF
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals	RS 51 .M4 2013 REF
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry	QD 71.5 E52 2000 REF
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds	QD 148 D53 1992 REF
Dictionary of Organic Compounds	QD 246 D5 1982 REF