Subject & Research Guides: Geology: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Geology
Covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.
Encyclopedia of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism
An up-to-date synthesis of the most basic concepts of Paleomagnetism and Geomagnetism. The volume will be of interest to undergraduate and first and second year graduate students and also non-specialists such as Geologists, Engineers, Biologists, Physicists, Mathematicians, who need to consult the book to find the most basic concepts of Paleomagnetism and Geomagnetism in one compendium.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary encyclopedia with authoritative entries on a range of subjects including geology, chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, engineering, environmental science and more.
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authorative collection of about 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Concise Encyclopedia of Earth Science	QE 5 M363 2005 REF
Dictionary of Earth Science	QE 5 M364 2003 REF
Dictionary of Geology and Minerology	QE 5 M3654 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Geology	QE5 E516 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry	QE 515 E48 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science	QE 741 E54 2007 REF
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks	QE 471.2 E53 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes	QE 522 E53 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Geobiology	QH 343.4 E53 2011 REF
Handbook of Mineralogy	QE 366.8 H36 1990 REF
Millennium Atlas: Petroleum Geology of the Central and Northern North Sea	G 1812.21 H8 G46 2003 REF
Minerals Yearbook	TN 23 U612 2006 GEN