Subject & Research Guides: Graduate Students' Resource Guide: Theses & Dissertations

Theses & Dissertations

The University's thesis copyright and binding policies ensure that your work will be printed properly and that it will not contravene copyright law. Consult your academic advisor or the University Archives for more information.

Thesis Forms and Procedures
Links to forms and information for Honours theses, Masters theses, Major Research Projects (MRPs), and PhD dissertations.

Saint Mary's University Institutional Repository
This digital service holds research and teaching materials created by the Saint Mary's University community, including archival images, theses, faculty projects, and University publications, as well as other special campus collections.

Dissertations & Theses @ Saint Mary’s University This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of all digitized theses and dissertations at Saint Mary's from 1979 onwards. See Saint Mary's Institutional Repository for additional dissertations and scholarly output from the Saint Mary's community.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Advanced research and scholarship. Free to find, free to use.
PQDT Open
Locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format. Authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access.
Search Theses Canada - LAC
Theses Canada, launched in 1965 at the request of the deans of Canadian graduate schools, is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and Canadian universities.

Archival Collections

Saint Mary's University Archives
The Archives website gives access to various online collections, including photographs and documents from the archival collection documenting the history of the University, oral histories, and the Saint Mary's institutional repository.
Saint Mary's University Institutional Repository
This digital service holds research and teaching materials created by the Saint Mary's University community, including archival images, theses, faculty projects, and University publications, as well as other special campus collections.
Dalhousie University Archives
Includes links to collections such as the Francis Bacon Collection and the Rudyard Kipling Collection.
Halifax Municipality Archives
Includes Council minutes, committee records, and historical records.
Nova Scotia Archives
Government and private sector records of significance to Nova Scotia. Searchable access to archival and library collections, including links to vital statistics and virtual exhibits.
Nova Scotia Provincial Library
The Provincial Library works with Nova Scotia’s 78 public libraries, providing leadership and support to ensure libraries continue to offer services that enrich lives and communities.
Pier 21
Includes historical immigration statistics and a ship arrivals database.