International Students' Resource Guide

Building Academic Vocabulary will help students develop lexical precision as they work in such often exercised modes as cause-effect, general description, description of processes, or comparison/contrast. Each unit focuses on 10-15 key vocabulary items within a certain essential meaning area.

This award-winning grammar course book provides the basis for linguistic courses and projects on translation, contrastive linguistics, stylistics, reading and discourse studies. Accessible and reader-friendly throughout, key features include: chapters divided into modules of class-length materials, each new concept clearly explained and highlighted, authentic texts from a wide range of sources, (spoken and written) to illustrate grammatical usage, and clear chapter and module summaries enabling efficient class preparation and student revision.

An all-in-one resource to help you sharpen your English verb and grammar skills Written with ESL learners like you in mind, this book provides essential concepts regarding verbs and grammar, as well as an appendix of helpful verb tables.

The Grammar Guide was written for bilingual and second language English students who already know a lot of English but who may not have studied a lot of grammar and haven't felt confident in a grammar class. This is an advanced textbook of grammar that explains some of the more difficult but important aspects of grammar that will help students in colleges and universities succeed in their academic work.

This coursebook for students and teachers of English and introductory linguistics is packed with worked examples and exercises which increase in difficulty, drawn from a range of discourses to consolidate the student's knowledge, competence and enjoyment of the subject.

Testing Your Grammar provides the most comprehensive review of the grammatical structures of English and is excellent practice for students taking English language proficiency exams. Testing Your Grammar covers all of the major aspects of English grammar -- count and non-count nouns, agreements, verb tense, modals, comparisons, complex cause structures -- that ESL students need to manage in order to improve their English.

This book is at the same time a presentation and an investigation of the phological system of the world's most widespread and most widely studies languate, English. It is intended both for teachers and prospective teachers of English who require a full understanding of the sound system of English and for students of linguists who know English and need to acquire an understanding of phonology.

Part of the phonology series of the English as-a-second-language program of Canada School of Public Service, Language Training Centre.

The first text designed specifically to introduce debate to new English language speakers. Written in clear, easily accessible prose, it presents the basics of debate while avoiding the complexity and excessive cultural references that make standard texts difficult for this audience to use.

Text includes: What to consider before starting writing? -- How to report a scientific work? -- How to clear fog from scientific writing? -- How to conquer flaws? -- Concluding advice.

Write in English like a native speaker! Taking a developmental approach to improving writing skills, Writing Better English helps you increase your levels of proficiency in both grammar and vocabulary. Before tackling sentence structures, the book helps you reinforce those grammar elements you may have trouble with, like verb tenses and pronouns. You'll then expand your written communication abilities through comprehensive explanations, skill-building exercises, and practical writing activities.

This updated manual for ESL students covers all parts of the IELTS and all of its question types: multiple-choice, short answer, sentence completion, flowchart completion, graphs, tables, note taking, summarizing, labeling diagrams and maps, classification, matching, and selecting from a list.

Cambridge IELTS 8 contains four authentic IELTS papers from Cambridge ESOL, providing excellent exam practice. The Student's Book with answers provides students with an excellent opportunity to familiarise themselves with IELTS and to practise examination techniques using authentic test material prepared by Cambridge ESOL.

How to Master the IELTS is the ultimate study companion for your journey into international education and employment. With four Academic tests and two General Training tests, this comprehensive practice tool provides important revision for every aspect of the exam.

Each exercise is divided into four quizzes. Quiz 1, a multiple-choice vocabulary quiz, introduces ten new words. Next, you will do Quiz 2. Quiz 2 is a sentence-completion quiz based on the ten words in Quiz 1. Next, you will do Quiz 3, a spelling quiz. The speaker on the CD will say the same ten words in turn. You will then have ten seconds to spell each word by saying it and typing it. Finally, you will do Quiz 4. Quiz 4 is a 60-word typing test based on the ten new words you have been recycling through Quizzes 1, 2 and 3, plus words, phrases and idioms recycled from previous exercises.

Updated to reflect the most current TOEFL formats, this book presents more than 1,000 practice questions with explanatory answers designed to prepare students to succeed on both the Paper-Based TOEFL (PBT) and the Internet-Based TOEFL (iBT). A TOEFL practice test with instructions for evaluation is also included.

The Cambridge Preparation for the TOEFL Test includes skill-building and practice tests to help learners succeed on the Test of English as a Foreign Language. This comprehensive test-preparation course is ideal for classroom use and self-study.

This is the leading guide to the most widely accepted English-language proficiency test in the world - the TOEFL test. It includes real TOEFL test questions for practice, as well as explanations of every section of the test and information on what is expected of you for every speaking and writing task.

Top the TOEFL is a TOEFL book like no other. It recognizes an essential key to the problem: students who struggle with the TOEFL have problems mastering English. Hence, while other TOEFL books teach strategies with long wordy explanations that hardly make sense to the average student, Top the TOEFL focuses on teaching students in the most intuitive way possible: examples.

The Writing Template Book is a practical how-to guide for academic writers. Because good writers automatically develop their own internal writing templates that impose clarity and structure on their material, this text provides template examples to help less experienced writers produce the reliable, replicable syntax that is essential to good writing.