Systematic Reviews and Knowledge Syntheses

Campbell Collaboration

• An international social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs. Provides resources, tools, and training for authors via their website and methodological guidance via the Campbell Systematic Reviews journal.

Cochrane

• A non-profit organization that produces high-quality systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision-making. Produces training materials, including guides and handbooks, to guide and support authors in conducting reviews.

Collaboration for Environmental Evidence (CEE)

• Provides resources, including guidelines and standards, tools, and online training, for authors conducting CEE evidence syntheses (systematic reviews, systematic maps, rapid reviews) in environmental management.

EPPI Centre (Evidence for Policy and Practice Information)

• Conducts systematic reviews across health, education, welfare and other public policy sectors and develops evidence synthesis methods and tools.

Equator Network (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research)

• An international initiative that seeks to improve the reliability and value of published health research literature by promoting transparent and accurate reporting and wider use of robust reporting guidelines. Provides a comprehensive, searchable database of reporting guidelines for many types of studies.

Evidence Synthesis International (ESI)

• ESI is a partnership of evidence synthesis organizations. Website includes links to training resources and synthesis methods tools. 

JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute)

• A global organization promoting and supporting evidence-based decisions that improve health and health service delivery. Their evidence-based practice (EBP) Resources include links to the JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis and critical appraisal tools.

Most of the tools and resources listed below are also listed in other sections of this guide. Where applicable you may be redirected to another section of this guide for further information. 

 

Getting Started Tools

What type of review is right for you? (Cornell University Library)

• A systematic review decision tree.

Right Review (Knowledge Translation Program)

• A free tool to help reviewers choose an appropriate knowledge synthesis review method. 

Please consult the Choosing a Review Type section of this guide for additional resources.

 

Review Management Software

Specialized evidence synthesis software can be used to perform a variety of review processes including screening and deduplication of search results, data extraction, and more. Most of these tools are by subscription only. Some offer free trials.

 

Available through the Library:

Covidence is web-based software for the production of systematic reviews and other types of knowledge syntheses. It was designed by reviewers who have done systematic reviews, and can be used for any kind of knowledge synthesis that requires screening articles. To access this tool, please contact Alison Manley at alison.manley@smu.ca.

Subscription/Fee-based:

DistillerSR (literature review software that supports systematic and other review types)

EPPI-Reviewer (web-based software tool for all types of systematic review including meta-analysis, framework synthesis and thematic
synthesis) 

JBI SUMARI (software to assist in the conduct of JBI systematic reviews)

PICO Portal (web-based tool for citation screening)

Rayyan (web-based screening tool; free to get started with subscription options)

RevMan (web-based platform for managing Cochrane Reviews; free for authors working on Cochrane reviews)

Free:

Abstrackr (web-based tool developed by Center for Evidence Synthesis in Health, Brown University)

Colandr (web-based, open access platform for conducting evidence reviews)

 

Searching Tools

PRISMA-S (PRISMA-S: PRISMA Search Reporting Extension)

searchRxiv

• An openly accessible, moderated search strategy repository where researchers can report, store and share their searches and review and re-use existing searches.

For search tips including how to locate existing evidence syntheses, please consult the Resources section in the Steps in the Review Process > Searching.

 

Critical Appraisal Tools

Please consult the list of resources in the Steps in the Review Process > Critical Appraisal section of this guide.

 

Data Extraction & Synthesis Tools

SRDR+ (Systematic Review Data Repository) 

• A free data extraction tool and archive of systematic reviews and their data.

 

Meta-Analysis Tools

Meta-Essentials: Workbooks for meta-analysis (Erasmus Research Institute of Management, Erasmus University, Rotterdam)

• A free tool that facilitates the integration and synthesis of effect sizes from different studies.

Methods of Synthesis and Integration Center (MOSAIC)

• An initiative at the American Institutes of Research; provides resources and tools to assist with evidence synthesis and meta-analysis.

Practical Meta-Analysis Effect Size Calculator (Campbell Collaboration)

 

Reporting, Writing, & Citing Tools

PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses) 

• Please consult the list of resources in the Steps in the Review Process > Writing section of this guide for additional reporting guidelines.

Methods Wizard (Systematic Review Accelerator)

• A tool to help with writing the methods section of a review. Part of the Systematic Review Accelerator suite of freely available automation tools. Please refer to the SRA Help Topics for more information.

Citation Styles (Patrick Power Library, Saint Mary's University)

• Information and resources on commonly used citation styles including information about citation managers Zotero, Endnote, and Mendeley.

 

Other Tools

Evidence Synthesis and Systematic Reviews Support Toolkit

• Contains resources, templates and other useful materials for researchers undertaking evidence synthesis projects such as systematic or scoping reviews.

STARR Decision Tool: Selecting approaches for rapid review

Systematic Review Accelerator 

• A suite of freely available automation tools to help expedite review processes. Please refer to the SRA Help Topics for more information.

Advanced Research Skills: Conducting Literature and Systematic Reviews (2nd ed.)

• A short course for graduate students to increase their proficiency in conducting research for literature and systematic reviews. This open educational resource was created by librarians from the Toronto Metropolitan University Library and the McMaster University Health Sciences Library. 

Evidence Synthesis for Librarians and Information Specialists

• A free self-paced open online course for librarians and information specialists.

Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis — Open & Free

• A Campbell Collaboration Online Course provides an overview of the steps involved in conducting a systematic (scientific) review of results of multiple quantitative studies. Free to use during the pilot stage (see course description for more information).

Searching for Systematic Reviews: Introduction - Tutorial

• A self-paced, online tutorial from University College London Library Services. Focuses on literature searching in health, clinical and life sciences, but will also be useful for systematic reviews in other disciplines.