Subject & Research Guides: Linguistics: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

Atlas of North American English : Phonetics, Phonology, and Sound Change: a Multimedia Reference Tool
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
Encyclopedia of Language and Education
Speech Acoustics and Phonetics
Structure and Variation in Language Contact
The papers in this collection reflect on the interplay between structure and variation in contact languages, both synchronically and diachronically. The papers provide evidence of the importance of pid-gin/creole studies as a subfield of linguistics and its contributions to general linguistic theory.
World Atlas of Language Structures
The World Atlas of Language Structures is a book and CD combination displaying the structural properties of the world's languages. 142 world maps and numerous regional maps - all in colour - display the geographical distribution of features of pronunciation and grammar, such as number of vowels, tone systems, gender, plurals, tense, word order, and body part terminology.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors. Call numbers with OVRSZ are on the third floor in the Oversized collection.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences	P 29 C28 2009 REF
Atlas of the World's Languages	G 1046 E3 A8 REF
Atlas of North American English	PE 2808 L26 2006 OVRSZ
Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages	P 371 C357 2004 REF
Compendium of the World's Languages	P 371 C36 2000 REF
Concise Encyclopedia of Languages of the World	P 29 C66 2009 REF
Concise Encyclopedia of Pragmatics	P 99.4 P72 C62 2009 REF
Concise Encyclopedia of Semantics	P 325 C66 2009 REF
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics	P 29 C65 2003 REF
Dictionary of Sociolinguistics	P 40 D477 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory	P 87.5 E496 2009 REF
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics	P 29 E48 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Semiotics	P 99 E64 1998 REF
Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia	P 29 R67 2010 REF
World Atlas of Language Structures	P 143 W67 2005 OVRSZ