Subject & Research Guides: Mathematics: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
The Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics provides a complete resource for researchers, students and lecturers with an interest in mathematical physics.
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics in an unintimidating style. The ideas and tools contained in these pages are approachable and can be invaluable for understanding our very technical world and the increasing flow of information.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary encyclopedia with authoritative entries on a range of subjects including geology, chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, engineering, environmental science and more.
Handbook on the History of Mathematics Education
This handbook provides a comprehensive and systematic aid for researchers around the world in finding the information they need about historical developments in mathematics education, not only in their own countries, but globally as well.
Mathematical Constants
Famous mathematical constants include the ratio of circular circumference to diameter, pi=3.14 …, and the natural logarithmic base, e=2.178 … Students and professionals usually can name at most a few others, but there are many more buried in the literature and awaiting discovery. How do such constants arise, and why are they important?

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics	QA 5 W45 2009 REF
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae	QA 47 C72 1996 30th Ed.REF
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics	QA 276.14 E84 2010 REF
A Dictionary of Real Numbers	QA 47 B625 1990 REF
Encyclopedia of Mathematics	QA 5 M3713 1988 REF
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences	QA 276.14 E52 1997 REF
Handbook of Combinatorics	QA 164 H33 1995 REF
Handbook of Differential Equations	QA 371 Z88 1992 GEN
NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions	QA 331 N57 2010 REF