Open Access Resources by Subject

The Atlas of Canada, produced by Natural Resources Canada, in partnership with Statistics Canada, presents a series of maps and accompanying analysis of national and regional data results from the 2006 Census.

The Encyclopedia of Life can be searched using species common or scientific name. Different institutions contribute content and the site is working toward having links to research and information on each of the approximately 1.8 million known species.

The NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of scientific topics as open access PDF or html files.

"Nature" is a English Language science journal, which covers a wide variety of scientific disciplines. The SMU Library has access to more recent copies (1950-present), but many earlier issues exist in the Public Domain, and some have been digitized. Copies from 1869-1875 (volumes 1-12) have been digitized by the University of Wisconsin.

Penn State Extension is a modern educational organization dedicated to delivering science-based information to people, businesses, and communities

Peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles, in all areas of astronomy, astrophysics, and cosmology.

Peer-reviewed research across a range of specialties including cosmology, space robotics and planetary materials.

Open Access Journal of Cosmology, Astronomy & Astrophysics, peer-reviewed open access journal of astronomy, astrophysics, and cosmology published quarterly online by MDPI.

Open Astronomy is a peer-reviewed, fully open access online journal, that publishes research, reviews and news spanning all aspects of astronomy and astrophysics.

Original articles spanning all of the Earth, planetary and space sciences

a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes original research, reviews, and clinical studies covering a wide range of subjects in science.

Peer-reviewed. Supports the international community of experts in pharmaceutical sciences by providing a venue for articles that further the understanding of all aspects of the field.

Animal Cells and Systems is the official journal of the Korean Society for Integrative Biology. This international, peer-reviewed journal publishes original papers that cover diverse aspects of biological sciences

An interactive 3D model of the human body, which can be viewed through a browser or a virtual reality headset.

Journal covering bioengineering and biotechnology, focusing on fundamental and advance sciences.

BMC Molecular and Cell Biology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the biology of cells.

International peer-reviewed Open Access journal affiliated with the Unit of Epidemiology and Global Health, Department of Public Health and Clinical Medicine at Umeå University, Sweden.

Peer reviewed research across all areas of basic, translational, and clinical physiology and allied disciplines.

The Public Health Agency of Canada empowers Canadians to improve their health. In partnership with others, its activities focus on preventing disease and injuries, promoting good physical and mental health, and providing information to support informed decision making. It values scientific excellence and provides national leadership in response to public health threats.

Its aim is to provide a fully peer reviewed publication route for new shorter contributions in the field of atmospheric and closely related sciences.

Peer-reviewed open-access articles in all areas of chemistry.

Multidisciplinary, gold-road open-access, international forum for the publication of outstanding Reviews, Full Papers, and Communications from all areas of chemistry and related fields.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Focused on rapid publication of innovative new syntheses and procedures that reduce or eliminate the use and generation of hazardous materials.

Open access journal established to promote free and open source designing, building and customizing of scientific infrastructure (hardware).

A refereed, international journal that covers all aspects of both foundations of computer and its practical applications.

Electronic product focusing entirely on publishing high quality conference proceedings.

The RMIT Research Repository is an open access institutional repository providing free, searchable access to research publications authored by RMIT University staff and students

Electromagnetics Volume 1by Steven W. Ellingson is a 224-page, peer-reviewed, open educational resource intended to serve as a primary textbook for a one-semester first course in undergraduate engineering electromagnetics, and includes: electric and magnetic fields; electromagnetic properties of materials; electromagnetic waves; and devices that operate according to associated electromagnetic principles including resistors, capacitors, inductors, transformers, generators, and transmission lines.

Open access index to resources in the field of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences

Its aim is to provide a fully peer reviewed publication route for new shorter contributions in the field of atmospheric and closely related sciences.

Scientific journal publishing empirical and theoretical research with significant implications for the conservation of biological diversity.

Journal examining the state of the planet and its inhabitants, sustainable and resilient societies, the science of the Anthropocene, and predictions of our common future through research articles, reviews and commentaries.

International journal published by Zhengzhou University in collaboration with John Wiley & Sons, Inc. for the publication of high quality, agenda-setting research related to materials for energy harvesting, conversion, storage, and transport as well as cleaner environment.

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

Peer-reviewed multidisciplinary open access journal that publishes original research articles, reviews, and commentaries aimed at providing practical solutions to a broad spectrum of current global challenges.

Open access peer-reviewed journal for the field of aquatic ecology of freshwater systems that is aimed at an international audience of researchers and professionals.

Provides a stimulating, informative and critical forum for intellectual debate on significant environmental issues.

Aims to promote forensic sciences through quality research articles, reviews, case reports, and letters to editors.

A curated collection of publicly-accessible material relating to every discipline of the forensic sciences.

Scene & lab magazine

Peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes original research papers and state-of-the-art reviews of broad interest on the geology of the tropics and the related ecological changes that forms the base for new landscape formations in tropical regions.

We provide science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods; the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on; the health of our ecosystems and environment; and the impacts of climate and land-use change.

An international journal dedicated to the latest advancements in geology. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of geology.

One of the flagship publications of the Canadian Mathematical Society, devoted to publishing original research works of high standard. The CJM is published six times per year.

Publishes original research articles as well as review articles on all aspects of both pure and applied mathematics.

Peer-reviewed open access journal which provides an advanced forum for studies related to mathematics, and is published monthly online by MDPI.

Interactive math and science simulations, created in open source and vetted by experts at the University of Colorado Boulder.

It has a wide scope which ranges from number theory to functional analysis and from quantum field theory to topology.

An open access journal.

HBRC Journal covers the following areas: Engineering Materials, Material Science, Architecture, Housing and Urban Development, Environmental Engineering and Building Physics, Structural Engineering, Geotechnical Engineering, Construction Engineering and Management, Nanotechnology

A new open access journal for the rapid publication of high-quality research in all areas of physics.

MERLOT lists reusable learning resources from animations to textbooks

Ensures the rapid publication of important new results in particle physics, nuclear physics and cosmology.

All fundamental and interdisciplinary areas of physics, materials science, and applied physics.

Publishing review papers on topics in all areas of (applied) physics.

Peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal, providing rapid publication of quality research across neurology, neuroscience, psychology and psychiatry.

Publishes theoretical and empirical contributions on all aspects of research and practice into psychosocial, behavioral and biomedical aspects of health.

Psychology Learning Resources from MERLOT