Theme related collections of digitized historical primary source documents. Topics: China Trade Politics and Culture 1793-1980, Frontier Life 1650-1920, Gender Issues 1450-1910, 18th Century Journals, The British Empire, Medieval Travel, Slavery and Social Justice 1490-2007. Search across all of the collections, via the AMexplorer search box, or browse each collection separately.
Theme related collections of digitized historical primary source documents. Topics: China Trade Politics and Culture 1793-1980, Frontier Life 1650-1920, Gender Issues 1450-1910, 18th Century Journals, The British Empire, Medieval Travel, Slavery and Social Justice 1490-2007.
This digital collection answers the need for clear, intelligible and informative English-language sources relating to China and the West, which can be used in the classroom. It would also benefit independent projects on any aspect of Chinese history during the country's monumental social and political upheaval.
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective
Gun regulation in the United States is arguably among the most controversial and heavily-debated topics in American history. The Second Amendment to the United States Constitution states: A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery ended courts were still resolving issues emanating from slavery.
This resource offers revolutionary access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
Provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. Material provides an insight into the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature and science.
This digital service holds research and teaching materials created by the Saint Mary's University community, including archival images, theses, faculty projects, and University publications, as well as other special campus collections.
This collection includes a multitude of legal materials on slavery. It features more than 1550 books, pamphlets and legal documents. As well as periodicals,bibliographies and slavery statutes.
Functionality includes customized browse and search option, featured titles and a quick finder tool.
An invaluable collection of historical works which contributed to the formation of American politics, culture, and ideals The following is a massive collection of the literature and documents which were most relevant to the colonists' lives in America. If it isn't here, it probably is not available online anywhere.
The British Newspaper Archive hosts over 44 million pages in total, with a remit that extends beyond Britain and Ireland to cover, for example, Jamaica, India and New Zealand. Alongside regional weekly newspapers, and national dailies, sit specialist sporting, religious, political, cinema and fashion titles, all bringing history to life and telling stories from the past.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
A complete archive of the weekly BBC literature and culture magazine, The Listener. Established in 1929, it documents broadcast talks originally aired on the BBC, initially on radio and later on television. This archive provides access to what in many cases is the only record of early broadcasts. The Listener also previewed major literary and musical broadcasts and reviewed books, featuring such literary notables as W. H. Auden, T. S. Eliot, E. M. Forster, Philip Larkin, George Orwell, Sylvia Plath, Bertrand Russell, Virginia Woolf and others
MemoryNS provides access to archival records from institutions across Nova Scotia, and is an initiative of the Council of Nova Scotia Archives. Search MemoryNS to find detailed information about the records and their creators as well as contact information for the contributing archives.
The Archives website gives access to various online collections, including photographs and documents from the archival collection documenting the history of the University, oral histories, and the Saint Mary's institutional repository.