Subject & Research Guides: Social Justice & Community Studies: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History covers the history of, and current developments in, LGBTQ-related topics and events around the world.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Encyclopedia of African History
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia of African History is a new A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.
International Handbook of Educational Leadership and Social (In)Justice
The Handbook celebrates the promises of social justice while providing the educational leadership research community with concrete, contextualized illustrations on how to address inequities and combat social, political and economic injustices through the processes of education in societies and educational institutions around the world.

Books with REF in the call number are found on the first floor.

Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice HM 1271 E485 2015 REF

Global Encyclopedia of LGBTQ History HQ 73 G56 2019 REF

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements HN 57 E594 2004 REF

The Oxford Companion to Canadian History FC 23 O94 2004 REF

Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples FC 104 E56 1999 REF

Encyclopedia of African History DT 20 E53 2005 REF

LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia HQ 73.3 U6 L43 2009 REF