Subject & Research Guides: Teaching English as a Second Language: Home

Library Contact

Heather Sanderson

Email Me

Contact:

Patrick Power Library
Saint Mary's University
923 Robie Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3C3
Phone: 902-420-5541

Related Guides

Linguistics

International Students' Resource Guide

Graduate Students' Resource Guide

Featured Book

Language Assessment: Principles and Classroom Practices by H. Brown; H. Douglas Brown
Language Assessment: Principles and Classroom Practices is designed to offer a comprehensive survey of essential principles and tools for second language assessment.

Top Resources

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and other publications in education and the educational aspects of related disciplines.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Includes an extensive collection of education-related journals. Includes The RELC Journal: A Journal of Language Teaching and Research; Language and Teaching Research; Second Language Research; Language Testing; Journal of Studies in International Education
Fulltext content from SAGE journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes many education journals, including TESOL Quarterly (coverage dates: 1967-2012) Education Resources on JSTOR Guide
Online archive of over 1500 core academic journals in the arts and sciences.
Current issues of most journals in JSTOR are not available; generally coverage extends from the first volume to issues published within the last 3-5 years.
JSTOR Advanced Search Tips
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of the 2nd edition and the Additions volumes, plus new and revised words.

Novanet Catalogue Search
Search the libraries' collections of print and electronic books, print and electronic journals, theses, media resources, and course reserves materials.

TESL News Headlines

Check out the latest news from the TESOL English Language Bulletin - a weekly digest of news affecting English language teachers worldwide.

Library Information

Library Hours

September 6 - December 20 (Fall Semester):

Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 11 p.m.

Saturday 10 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Sunday 1 p.m. - 11 p.m.

Research Help Hours

September 6 - December 20 (Fall Semester):

In person:

Monday – Friday 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Saturday & Sunday Closed

Online (chat, text, email):

Monday – Thursday 10 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Friday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Saturday Closed

Sunday 1 - 5 p.m.

Keep up with the latest news and events at the Patrick Power Library!

@SMUhfxlibrary on Facebook
- This link opens in a new window
@SMUhfxlibrary on Twitter
- This link opens in a new window
@SMUhfxlibrary on Instagram
- This link opens in a new window

Patrick Power Library Maps

Please note, the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Library are "Quiet Zones".

Teaching English as a Second Language

Library Contact

Related Guides

Linguistics

International Students' Resource Guide

Graduate Students' Resource Guide

Featured Book

Top Resources

Top Resources

TESL News Headlines

Library Information

Patrick Power Library Maps

Virtual Library Tour

Campus Maps & Tours