The following databases are some suggested starting points for research in Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the program, additional databases will be appropriate for various research topics. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases page.
Key index for scholarship in sociology and related disciplines. Links to full-text in other databases.
Indexes over 1,700 journals on U.S. and Canadian history, from pre-history to the present. Includes abstracts in English of articles published in over 40 languages.
Full-text access to over 800 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Multi-disciplinary database with more than 1,100 journals, over 200 gold open access journals, and 400 society partners.
Indexes scholarship on women's studies, gender studies, and related disciplines with links to full-text in other databases. Coverage from 1972 to present.
Other useful databases:
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socio-economic database. Provides statistics on various subjects, such as population and demography, and income, labour, and business performance.
Indexes scholarship on world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Access to more than 12 million journal articles, books images, and primary sources in the arts and social sciences.
More than 350,000 literary works and a large library of key criticism and reference resources.