The following databases are suggested starting points for research in Ancient Studies. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
Multi-disciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Access to more than 12 million journal articles, books images, and primary sources in the arts and social sciences.
More than 520 volumes of important works in Latin, Greek, and English literature.
Full-text access to over 800 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Over 1,700 journals in the humanities and social sciences. Over 700 journals in science and technology.
Other useful databases:
Here is a selection of Ancient Studies journals available in the library. You can also look up journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.