The following databases are some suggested starting points for research in Atlantic Canadian Studies. As this is an interdisciplinary program, additional databases may be appropriate for some topics.To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases page.
Full-text articles on current affairs and business issues from Canadian periodicals and news sources.
Indexes over 1,700 journals on U.S. and Canadian history, from pre-history to the present. Includes abstracts in English of articles published in over 40 languages.
Contains many Canadian full-text journals, magazines, and news sources.
Online news database that provides full-text coverage of many Canadian and international newspapers.
Access to more than 12 million journal articles, books images, and primary sources in the arts and social sciences.
Other useful databases:
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socio-economic database. Provides statistics on various subjects, such as population and demography, and income, labour, and business performance.
The digitized, full-image version of the The Globe and Mail newspaper. Coverage from 1844 to 2019.
Over 2 million pages of digitized source materials in Canadian history, literature, and politics.
Here is a selection of Atlantic Canada Studies journals available in the library. You can also look up journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.