The Atlantic Canada Virtual Archives (ACVA) features collections of digitized documents and images, accompanied by learning activities and commentary, of interest to a wide range of readers.
Fascinating interviews that cover not only the diverse history of Saint Mary's, but also provide a snapshot of life in Halifax over the last sixty-plus years and a broad examination of the changes in academia.
A collaborative effort of the University of New Brunswick's Electronic Text Centre and Canada Research Chair in Atlantic Canada Studies; promotes the study of Canada’s Atlantic Provinces.
A series of concise booklets on topics in Canadian history written for the general and specialist reader from the Canadian Historical Association. Several focus on Atlantic Canadian history. Also available in print via the library catalogue by booklet title.
Government and private sector records of significance to Nova Scotia. Searchable access to archival and library collections, including links to vital statistics and virtual exhibits.
The NFB website is a destination for point-of-view documentaries, animation films, interactive projects and Canadian films. There are over 3,000 documentaries, feature films and animation films for free.
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Interdisciplinary peer-reviewed, open access journal specialising in Canadian history, politics, culture and society and has been published annually since 1984.
MemoryNS provides access to archival records from institutions across Nova Scotia, and is an initiative of the Council of Nova Scotia Archives. Search MemoryNS to find detailed information about the records and their creators as well as contact information for the contributing archives.
Online materials for over 800 indigenous languages and the people that speak them. Includes language learning worksheets, vocabulary lists, and a geographical index of Native American tribes.
