Strategic Research Plan - Library Support and Resources

Below is a small selection of library resources related to the various research areas under the Connecting to Communities theme. 

• Library Guide for Atlantic Canada Studies
• University Archives
  • The Lynn Jones African Canadian & Diaspora Heritage Collection
• The library's Community User Guide, for members of the general public and alumni
• The Indigenous Studies library guide, with a strong focus on local and national indigenous resources
• Our many newspaper databases, including the Eureka database with many local and regional news sources not available elsewhere

This section contains a sample of recent graduate-level theses by Saint Mary's students related to Connecting to Communities. This is only a selection of recent graduate-level work in this area. The Patrick Power Library publishes and catalogues University theses, making the full-text accessible in databases and search engines across the world. The link will take you to the library's institutional repository, where you can browse and search all theses and dissertations created at Saint Mary's University since 1962. You can also find our theses and dissertations by searching the Novanet library catalogue.

Stockley, L. A., (2021). Drivers of community engagement in protecting heritage assets in the context of a dynamic coastal landscape [Master’s thesis, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/29555 

Thompson, K., (2022). Gender-based violence (GBV) against immigrant women living in Canada: blending big data and critical discourse approaches to news media representations [Master’s thesis, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/30953 

This section contains a sample of recent articles by Saint Mary's faculty related to Connecting to Communities. This is only a selection of recent work in this area. The link will take you to the library's institutional repository, where you can browse and search all available faculty publications. You can also search for additional articles and books by our faculty from the library homepage. 

Paterson, B., & Charles, A. T. (2019). Community-based responses to climate hazards: typology and global analysis. Climatic Change 152(3/4), 327–343. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10584-018-2345-5 (https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/29950)