The library provides access to many key resources in the study of climate change and the environment. These resources cross many disciplines, including central ones such as Environmental Science and Geography/Environmental Studies, but with additional material in Global Development Studies, Political Science, and more. These include many resources covering the scientific, social, and political aspects of climate change. They support current research by the faculty and graduate students of Saint Mary's in climate change-affected areas such as coastal studies, wetlands, species distribution, fisheries, migration, and much more.
This section contains a sample of recent graduate-level theses by Saint Mary's students related to Climate Change and the Environment. This is only a selection of recent graduate-level work in this area. The Patrick Power Library publishes and catalogues University theses, making the full-text accessible in databases and search engines across the world. The link will take you to the library's institutional repository, where you can browse and search all theses and dissertations created at Saint Mary's University since 1962. You can also find our theses and dissertations by searching the Novanet library catalogue.
************************************************
Champagne, B. (2021). The future of Nova Scotia’s dykelands: understanding the landowners’ perspective [Master’s thesis, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/29943
Ekhteraei Toosi, H. (2022). Designing power scheduling algorithms for electric vehicles and energy storage systems in bi-directional markets using mixed-integer programming [Doctoral dissertation, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/30959
Hicks, T. (2021). Native plant mixtures for Atlantic Canada green roofs: compatibility with sedums, propagation techniques and soil design [Master’s thesis, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/29937
MacIsaac, B. (2018). An investigation of factors that influence coastal communities’ ability to adopt or participate in climate change adaptation planning in the Atlantic Provinces [Master’s thesis, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/28062
MacLeod, K. R. (2022). Mercury biomagnification in freshwater ecosystems of Nova Scotia [Master’s thesis, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/31282
Maganga, T. (2020). Climate change & human mobility: the interconnectedness of colonial, contemporary development policies, and climate change in shaping human mobility in Zimbabwe’s small-scale rural farming areas [Doctoral dissertation, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/29407
Sarker, F. H. (2022). Transition between stand-alone and grid connected solar pv microgrids [Master’s thesis, Saint Mary’s University]. Saint Mary’s university Archives Institutional Repository. https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/31005
This section contains a sample of recent articles by Saint Mary's faculty related to Climate Change and the Environment. This is only a selection of recent work in this area. The link will take you to the library's institutional repository, where you can browse and search all available faculty publications. You can also search for additional articles and books by our faculty from the library homepage.
**************************
Cameron, E., Sundqvist, M. K., Keith, S. A., CaraDonna, P. J., Mousing, E. A., Nilsson, K. A., Metcalfe, D. B., & Classen, A. T. (2019). Uneven global distribution of food web studies under climate change. Ecosphere 10(3), e02645. https://doi.org/10.1002/ecs2.2645 (https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/29958)
Fairbrother, A., Muir, D. C. G., Solomon, K. R., Ankley, G. T., Rudd, M. A., Boxall, A., Apell, J. N., Armbrust, K. L., Blalock, B. J., Bowman, S. R., Campbell, L. M., Cobb, G. P., Connors, K. A., Dreier, D. A., Evans, M. S., Henry, C. J., Hoke, R. A., Houde, M., Klaine, S. J., Klaper, R D., Kullik, S. A., Lanno, R. P., Meyer, C., Ottinger, M. A., Oziolor, E., Petersen, E. J., Poynton, H. C., Rice, P. J., Rodriguez‐Fuentes, G., Samel, A., Shaw, J. R., Steevens, J. A., Verslycke, T. A., Vidal‐Dorsch, D. E., Weir, S. M., Wilson, P., & Brooks, W. (2019). Toward Sustainable Environmental Quality: Priority Research Questions for North America. Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 38(8): 1606–1624. https://doi.org/10.1002/etc.4502 (https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/29963)
Franklin, C., Harper, K. A., & Clarke, M. J. (2020). Trends in studies of edge influence on vegetation at human created and natural forest edges across time and space. Canadian Journal of Forest Research 51(2), 274-282. https://doi.org/10.1139/cjfr-2020-0308 (https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/29940)
Paterson, B. & Charles, A. T. (2019). A global comparison of community-based responses to natural hazards. Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences 19(11), 2465-2475. https://nhess.copernicus.org/articles/19/2465/2019/nhess-19-2465-2019.pdf (https://library2.smu.ca/handle/01/30879)