Subject & Research Guides: Chemistry: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

You can use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Chemical Information Sources from the U.S. National Institutes of Health
Information on 390,000+ chemicals including synonyms and structures
Dictionary of Metals
Provides detailed descriptions of each of the 73 metallic elements, tables of physical properties, historical notes, and a Metals History Timeline.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
A comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology.
Handbook of Industrial Crystallization
Crystallization is an important separation and purification process used in industries ranging from bulk commodity chemicals to specialty chemicals and pharmaceuticals.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

ACS Style Guide	QD 8.5 A25 2006 REF
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics	QD 65 H3 2012/13 REF
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds	QD 148 D53 1992 REF
Dictionary of Organic Compounds	QD 246 D5 1982 REF
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry	QD 71.5 E52 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology	TP 9 E685 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectronomy	QD 95 E55 2000 REF
Inorganic Materials Chemistry Desk Reference	TP 200 S26 2005 REF
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals	RS 51 M4 2013 REF