Subject & Research Guides: Chemistry: Websites

Chemistry Websites

Chemical Information Sources from the U.S. National Institutes of Health
Information on 390,000+ chemicals including synonyms and structures
ChemiCool
Includes periodic table, chemical elements, and chemical dictionary.
Federal Science Libraries Network (FSLN)
The Federal Science Libraries Network (FSLN) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place.
Material Safety Data Sheet
Directory of where to find MSDS on the internet
Organic Chemistry Portal
The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database operated by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), US Department of Health & Human Services
TOXNET
A collection of databases on toxicology information from the US National Library of Medicine.
WebElements Periodic Table of the Elements
Online periodic table

ChemSpider - Database of Chemical Structures and Property Predictions
Chemistry search engine that aggregates and indexes chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This site provides thermochemical and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program
R&D Chemicals - Rare Chemicals Database
Database of chemical compounds. Find a chemical by its molecular formula, IUPAC name, SMILES, CAS number, structure or substructure.

Many articles are available as preprints or eprints before actual publication. Search these databases to find the "gray literature."

ChemRxiv
ChemRxiv (pronounced "chem-archive") is a free online submission, distribution, and archival service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. Note: Preprints are not peer-reviewed, are unedited, and are not prepared for publication beyond the author's original submitted files.
more...less...
ChemRxiv is operated by the American Chemical Society, a non-profit and the world's largest scientific society, in collaboration with partners.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 36 million citations for health-related scholarly literature from the US National Library of Medicine.

Atmospheric Science Letters
Its aim is to provide a fully peer reviewed publication route for new shorter contributions in the field of atmospheric and closely related sciences.
BMC Chemistry
Peer-reviewed open-access articles in all areas of chemistry.
ChemistryOpen
Multidisciplinary, gold-road open-access, international forum for the publication of outstanding Reviews, Full Papers, and Communications from all areas of chemistry and related fields.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Green Chemistry Letters and Reviews
Focused on rapid publication of innovative new syntheses and procedures that reduce or eliminate the use and generation of hazardous materials.

Check the websites you are using for the Accuracy, Authority, Bias, Coverage, and Currency of the information they contain.