Subject & Research Guides: Ancient Studies (formerly Classics): Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

The Blackwell Guide to Plato's Republic
The Blackwell Guide to Plato's Republic consists of thirteen new essays written by both established scholars and younger researchers with the specific aim of helping readers to understand. Plato's masterwork
A Companion to Aristotle
The Blackwell Companion to Aristotle provides in-depth studies of the main themes of Aristotle's thought, from art to zoology.
A Companion to Socrates
Written by an outstanding international team of scholars, this Companion explores the profound influence of Socrates on the history of Western philosophy.
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt
Encyclopedia opens with a map of the region and a chronology which provides a context for the material which follows. There are fourteen overview essays followed by more than 300 entries in alphabetical order.
The Gods of Ancient Greece : Identities and Transformations
The Gods of Ancient Greece looks at individual gods, but also asks to what extent cult, myth and literary genre determine the nature of a divinity and presents a synchronic and diachronic view of the gods as they functioned in Greek culture until the triumph of Christianity.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is a digital library project of Tufts University that assembles digital collections of humanities resources. It is hosted by the Department of Classics. Collections of Greco-Roman classics are featured.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Barrington Atlas of the Greek & Roman World G 1033 B32 2000 REF

The Cambridge Ancient History D 57 C252 REF

Encyclopedia of the Worlds Ancient Languages P 371 C357 2004 REF

A Companion to the Classical Greek World DF 214 .C58 2006 GEN

The Oxford Classical Dictionary DE 5 O9 1996 REF

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece DF 16 E52 2006 REF

The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature PA 31 H69 1989 REF

Voyages in Classical Mythology BL 727 S66 1994 GEN

Women of Classical Mythology BL 715 B445 1991 GEN

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites DE 59 P7 REF and DE 59 P7 GEN

The Homer Encyclopedia PA 4037 A5 H58 2011 REF