Subject & Research Guides: Finance & Management Science: Corporate Finance Databases

Corporate Finance Research

To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.

Finding Company Information in ABI/INFORM
This series of instructional videos from ProQuest teaches users how to build search strategies in the ABI/INFORM database, in order to find comprehensive company information.
International Directory of Company Histories
New volume produced annually; use for finding parent and child relationships among companies. 150+ vols., in Library Reference Collection: HD 2721 I57 1988 SMUREF
Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

Mergent Bond Viewer This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Mergent Online will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas as of January 2025
Covers U.S. and international private and publicly traded companies, bonds, and economic and industry reports.
Saint Mary's Mergent Online Guide
TSX Online (Toronto Stock Exchange and TSX E-Review via U of T data services) This link opens in a new window
Value Line Investment Survey / Value Line Fund Advisor This link opens in a new window

EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval) - U.S. SEC Filings
Database of Corporate Filings received by United States Securities and Exchange Commission. Search by company name, geography (U.S. States) and SIC Codes and more. Company filings are also available via Mergent Online database. See overview of EDGAR here
SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)
Provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.

Dun & Bradstreet Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Financial information and ratios for industries in Canada. Formerly known as Industrial Norms & Key Business Ratios

Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS)
Presents and analyses industry data on a number of economic indicators, using the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada.
- Search by keyword or browse Industry sectors (arranged by Canadian NAICS codes
Financial Performance Data (Industry Canada)
Industry Canada database of financial information and ratios for Canadian industries (small and medium-sized enterprise operations only)
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Canada 2012
Standard classifications systems such as the Standard Industrial Classification system (SIC) and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are developed by government statistical agencies as a means to group company and industry data. Commercial publishers may develop their own classification system, usually based on the government system, and will often indicate an SIC code or an NAICS code as part of a company description in a directory or database.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Located in the Reference Collection. Call number: HC 106.6 S74 SMREF

Compustat: General Support Articles
Provided within the WRDS platform. Access requires a valid login to the WRDS System.
Compustat Tools
Includes a Query Dashboards to retrieve Complete Financial Statements (XLS), Data and Ratios (XLS), Financial Statements, Daily Updated (HTML) and CUSIP converter. Provided within the WRDS platform. Access requires a valid login to the WRDS System.
Support: Compustat on WRDS
Compustat Manuals and Overviews, within the WRDS platform. Access requires a valid login to the WRDS System.

Capital IQ Handout - A Quick Reference Guide for Academia
Tips on how to access Capital IQ, Look up company/person profiles, market analysis, company screening, etc.
Capital IQ Handout - Company Intelligence
Information on searching company profiles, profile data, financials/valuations, etc.

How to use S&P Capital IQ for Company Research
Slides prepared for Singapore Management University by Jiaxin Low, Information Services Manager, used with permission.
Exercises - Using Capital IQ
Created for Singapore Management University, by Jiaxin Low, Finance Librarian, linked with permission.
Capital IQ for Industry Research (Slides)
Singapore Management University (Jiaxin Low, Finance Librarian)
Capital IQ for Company Screening (Slides)
Singapore Management University (Jiaxin Low, Finance Librarian)
Baker Library (Harvard University): Capital IQ Search Examples

How to Read and Find NAICS Codes
A guide explaining what NAICS codes are and how to find them.
How to Read and Find SIC Codes
A guide explaining what SIC codes are and how to find them.