The following databases are suggested starting points for research in Global Development Studies. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
Key index to international scholarship in public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Coverage from 1972 to the present.
Full-text coverage of global news and business articles from international and U.S. publications.
Over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
Other useful databases:
Over 1,700 journals in the humanities and social sciences. Over 700 journals in science and technology.
Key index for scholarship in sociology and related disciplines. Links to full-text in other databases.
Multi-disciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Contains three linked databases indexing sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities scholarly articles.
Statistical databases:
Over 1,400 time-series indicators for 217 countries and 40 country aggregates, covering social and economic indicators, health, education, and more.
Open access to global development data. Includes development indicators and data by country on hundreds of topics.
Includes the main global and country economic indicators of more than 200 countries, starting in 1948.
Features country profiles and statistical data on a range of subjects including development, finance, labour, and health.
Here is a selection of Global Development Studies journals available in the library. You can also look up journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.