Subject & Research Guides: History: Reference Shelf

New Reference Book

Atlas of the Irish Revolution
Call Number: DA 962 A7855 2017 SMREF
The Atlas of the Irish Revolution is a definitive resource that brings to life this pivotal moment in Irish history and nation-building.

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

The Oxford Companion to Canadian History

Dictionary of National Biography (campus access only) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains over 60,000 illustrated biographies of influential individuals from British history.

Encyclopedia of African History
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia of African History is a new A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.
Great Lives from History: The 20th Century, 1901-2000
Great Lives from History: The Twentieth Century, 1901-2000 (10 vols.) is the eighth installment in the revised and expanded Great Lives series, which provides in-depth critical essays on important men and women in all areas of achievement, from around the world and throughout history
Historical Dictionary of Canada
Presents the country, traces its history, takes a good look at the current situation, and offers some insight into the future. It does so through concise and informative entries on significant persons, places, events, institutions, and ethnic groupings.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Historical Dictionary of Canada	FC 23 .G68 2011 REF
American Culture and Intellectual History	E 169.1 E624 2001 REF
Cambridge Ancient History	D 57 C252 REF
Wiley-Blackwell Dictionary of Modern European History Since 1789	D 299 A84 2011 REF
Cambridge Medieval History	D 117 C3 1924 REF
Companion to Historiography	D 13 C626 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of African History	DT 20 E53 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Thought	CB 415 E53 2004 REF
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing	D 13 G47 1998 REF
Larousse Dictionary of World History	D 9 L33 1995 REF
The New Cambridge Modern History	D 208 N4 REF
Oxford Companion to World War II	D 740 O94 1995 REF
Encyclopedia of Latin America	F 1406 E5155 2010 REF