Provides a guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
The collection brings together more than 550 titles. Containing: CRS Reports, Congressional hearings, Supreme Court briefs, bibliographies, periodicals, legislative histories and government documents.
Website provides resources for historians, such as information on conferences and careers in history, and fulltext access to reviews and articles from the online journal Reviews in History.
This collection includes a multitude of legal materials on slavery. It features more than 1550 books, pamphlets and legal documents. As well as periodicals,bibliographies and slavery statutes.
Functionality includes customized browse and search option, featured titles and a quick finder tool.
The Atlantic Canada Virtual Archives (ACVA) features collections of digitized documents and images, accompanied by learning activities and commentary, of interest to a wide range of readers.
A series of concise booklets on topics in Canadian history written for the general and specialist reader from the Canadian Historical Association. Several focus on Atlantic Canadian history. Also available in print via the library catalogue by booklet title.
Online version of a standard reference tool. Search for biographies of important persons in the formation and history of Canada. From Library and Archives Canada.
The NFB website is a destination for point-of-view documentaries, animation films, interactive projects and Canadian films. There are over 3,000 documentaries, feature films and animation films for free.
Digitised images of selected original war diaries recording the daily activities of Australian Army units are available for the following conflicts: First World War, Second World War, Korean War, South-east Asian conflicts.
Digital library of primary and secondary source materials for British history from medieval to modern times, from the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
An online selecton of titles from the Cornell University Library's collection of materials on witchcraft, focusing on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy.
Transcripts of interviews with refugees from Russia during the early years of the Cold War selected from the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System. Access in English, transcripts in Russian.
"Hidden Lives Revealed provides an intriguing encounter with children who were in the care of The Children's Society in late Victorian and early 20th Century Britain."
Provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
A fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts, 1679 to 1772.
Digital collection of books and pamphlets which demonstrate varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States by Americans in the 19th century.
The Museum’s Collections document the fate of Holocaust victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators, and others through artifacts, documents, photos, films, books, personal stories, and more.
The Museum’s Collections document the fate of Holocaust victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators, and others through artifacts, documents, photos, films, books, personal stories, and more.
Evaluating Web Sources
Check the websites you are using for the Accuracy, Authority, Bias, Coverage, and Currency of the information they contain.
