Subject & Research Guides: Irish Studies: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
Contains over 11,000 biographical articles of notable Irish men and women.

Atlas of Irish History
Medieval Ireland: An Encyclopedia
Medieval Ireland: An Encyclopedia brings together in one authoritative resource the multiple facets of life in Ireland before and after the Anglo-Norman invasion of 1169, from the sixth to sixteenth century. Multidisciplinary in coverage, this A–Z reference work provides information on historical events, economics, politics, the arts, religion, intellectual history, and many other aspects of the period
Griffith's Valuation
Primary valuation was the first full-scale valuation of property in Ireland. It was overseen by Richard Griffith and published between 1847 to 1869.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors. Call numbers with OVRSZ are on the third floor in the Oversized collection.

Atlas of the Irish Revolution DA 962 A7855 2017 REF

Oxford Companion to Irish History	DA 912 O94 2004 REF
Celtic Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia	CB 206 C45 2006 REF
Dictionary of Irish Literature	PR 8706 D5 1996 REF
Dictionary of Irish Philosophers	B 1111 D53 2004 REF
The Encyclopedia of Ireland	DA 906 E52 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture	DA 912 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Irish Spirituality	BL 980 I7 J47 2000 REF
Irish Elections 1948-77 : Results and Analysis	JN 1541 I76 2009 OVRSZ (3rd floor)
Focloir Gaeilge-Bearla (Irish Language Dictionary)	PB 1291 O25 1977 REF
The Gaelic-English Dictionary	PB 1591 M37 2004 REF
Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Celtic	PB 1083.5 M38 2009 REF