Subject & Research Guides: Languages and Cultures (formerly Modern Languages): Find Articles

Databases and Journals

The following databases are suggested starting points for research in Languages and Cultures. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
CAIRN This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of French language scholarly journals.
Erudit This link opens in a new window
More than 50 French language scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities, primarily from French Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarship on world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 12 million journal articles, books images, and primary sources in the arts and social sciences.
Saint Mary's JSTOR Guide

Other useful databases:

CBCA (Canadian Business and Current Affairs) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on current affairs and business issues from Canadian periodicals and news sources.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Key index to international scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage from the early 20th century to the present. Links to full-text in JSTOR and Project MUSE.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
A guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases from across the English-speaking world.

Here is a selection of Languages and Cultures journals available in the library. You can also look up journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.

Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.

Journals A-Z List
A listing of all the journals we subscribe to at the Library.

BrowZine
BrowZine is a journal finding website and app that provides quick and user-friendly access to Saint Mary's e-journals. You can add your favourite journals to your BrowZine Bookshelf, save important articles, and export citations to your preferred management program. See our Browzine Quick Guide for help getting started.
more...less...
If you prefer to use the app: download the BrowZine app from the App Store, Google Play Store, or the Amazon App Store. When you open the app you will see a list of schools, select Saint Mary's University (Halifax), then sign in with your S number and password. Select your preferred subject area(s) and begin browsing.

Journal and Search Alerts

Most databases allow you to set up a personal account where you can save your searches. Many journals allow you to receive alerts of new issues or new articles that match your research criteria. Look for RSS, Save as Search Alert, TOC Alert, e-alerts, etc. The following guide shows you how to set up alerts:

Journal and Search Alerts
Video version with audio
Journal and Search Alerts
PDF version (download to see alt text for images)

What are Scholarly Journals?

Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.

You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.

Need help finding journal articles? Check out this guide:

How to Find Journal Articles (PDF)

Languages and Cultures (formerly Modern Languages)

Google Scholar Search

Is Your Source Credible?

Databases and Journals

Journal and Search Alerts

What are Scholarly Journals?

What are Scholarly Journals?

Need help finding journal articles? Check out this guide: