Languages and Cultures (formerly Modern Languages)

Provides listening exercises for students of Arabic, from beginners to advanced.

Provides a small collection of poems in classical Arabic and English translation, synchronized to digital recordings of the Arabic texts. Intended for intermediate and advanced students of Arabic.

Introduces basic words and phrases to students of conversational Mandarin Chinese. The website is divided into ten units covering everyday situations and topics, including: tone sounds; introducing yourself and your family; ordering food; shopping; and pu

Exercises for elementary level students. Includes sample multimedia listening and grammar comprehension exercises; help with pinyin pronunciation; lessons based on everyday situations with sound files; grammar exercises and more. Links to related resource

The Center, at Ohio State University, is associated with the journal Modern Chinese Literature and Culture. Site has list of translations of modern Chinese literature, bibliographies of literary and media studies.

Useful for beginner students of French. In addition to language learning, the website provides tours of French cities and travel information.

The website provides information on all aspects of French culture. A resource for students taking contemporary French studies. Covers the areas of archaeology, architecture, modern art, cinema, history, French language, literature, and the performing arts

Literary theory and criticism of French literature.

Digital library of classic and contemporary French publications.

A useful tool for students at the intermediate level of French. The website features a French dictionary with synonyms, conjugations of verbs and also an English/French section. There are short essays on literary topics, as well as quizzes and games.

The BBC Languages German website is suitable for beginner and intermediate students of German.

The website of Germany's international broadcaster makes available live radio and television streams covering German current affairs, culture, literature, and politics. Useful for students of German as a listening aid and freely accessible source of Germa

Online reference book containing current and reliable information on various aspects of German life. Facts and figures are divided into categories: foreign policy; economy; modern life; political system; culture and media; federal states; society; educati

Contains over 460,000 entries and features grammar guides and audio files of pronunciations.

Information on learning German, and studying in Germany

The Center for Japanese Studies Publications Program offers a wide variety of online materials in searchable, downloadable formats.

This website provides comprehensive and current information on travelling and living in Japan.

Digitized, searchable collection of historical Japanese texts with English translations from the University of California at Berkeley

Provides access to the descriptions and digitized images of the historical records preserved by the National Archives of Japan.

From the National Diet Library of Japan, archival images of modern Japanese historical figures.

Provides courses or exercises in Spanish for a variety of levels, from beginner to advanced learners.

The Cervantes Project is a collection of digital texts, bibliographies, images and support material by and about Miguel de Cervantes.

Online English-Spanish and Spanish-English dictionary that will assist students from beginner to advanced. Includes audio pronunciations.