Subject & Research Guides: Accounting: Reference Shelf

Using the Library Reference Collection

The Patrick Power Library has many accounting books in the print Reference Collection on the main floor. Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. These books cannot be borrowed, but they are an excellent starting point for research. Typical items in the reference collection include:

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries and thesauri
Handbooks
Bibliographies

When you use reference books, remember to cite individual entries if possible and use the indexes to search for your keywords.

Accounting Reference Books - PRINT

Accountants' Handbook 2009 by D. R. Carmichael (Editor); Paul H. Rosenfield; Lynford Graham (Editor); O. Ray Whittington (Editor)
Call Number: HF 5621 .A22 2012
ISBN: 9780471790419
This handbook is designed as a single reference source that provides answers to all reasonable questions on accounting and financial reporting asked by accountants, auditors, bankers, lawyers, financial analysts, and other preparers and users of accounting information.
Accounting Standards (Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales)
Call Number: HF5601 .A22
Canadian Business Compliance Manual
Call Number: HF5635 .W55 REF
ISBN: 9781553854555
Canadian Key Business Directory
Call Number: HF3223 .C24 2014 REF
Publication Date: 2014
The Complete CPA Reference
Call Number: HF5636.D377 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Covers useful topics such as IFRS standards, internal control over financial reporting financial measures, ratios, and procedures. Includes complete coverage of the Risk Assessment Auditing Standards and Standards of the PCAOB Incorporates Accounting Standards Codification (ASC) throughout the book.
A Dictionary of Accounting and Auditing by Guy Lynn
Call Number: HF5681 .B2 C33 REF
ISBN: 0974418447
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
This dictionary presents around 10,000 concise entries defining words and phrases currently in use in these fields in the US, UK, Canada, and Australia. Included are some slang terms as well as technical jargon.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by Gale Editors (Editor)
Call Number: HF1001 .E466 2014 REF
ISBN: 9780028662640
Publication Date: 2014-06-06
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 3rd Edition, is designed to meet both the specific research and general inquiry needs of students by providing easy to understand essays covering all of the foundational topics, themes, and theories that will be covered in their business degree curricula.
International Financial Reporting Standards
Call Number: HF5626 .I582 REF

Accounting Reference eBooks

Below is a selection of the many ebooks in the accounting subjects we have available for you. Please search the catalog for titles or subjects not listed below.

Encyclopedia of Corporate Social Responsibility
Publication Date: 2013-03-09
The "Encyclopedia of Corporate Social Responsibility" has been conceived to assist researchers and practitioners to align business and societal objectives.
Routledge Companion to Critical Accounting
Call Number: HF5636 .R683 2018 + ONLINE
Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge Companion to Qualitative Accounting Research Methods
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2017
This comprehensive compilation provides an essential guide to the choice and execution of qualitative research approaches in this field. The contributions are grouped into four sections: Worldview and paradigms Methodologies and strategies Data collection methods and analysis Experiencing qualitative field research: personal reflections
Strategic Management Accounting
Publication Date: 2017-10-25
This book serves as a guide to strategic management accounting. It introduces new and useful concepts on how to collect, analyse, and evaluate options to enable managers to steer corporate directions and write strategic plans for the long-term success of the corporation.