The following databases are suggested starting points for research in Anthropology. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
Indexes scholarship on all aspects of anthropology. Contains abstracts only. Covers 2001 to present.
Multi-disciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
Access to more than 12 million journal articles, books images, and primary sources in the arts and social sciences.
Key index for scholarship in sociology and related disciplines. Links to full-text in other databases.
Other useful databases:
Indexes over 1,700 journals on U.S. and Canadian history, from pre-history to the present. Includes abstracts in English of articles published in over 40 languages.
Indexes over 140,000 bibliographic records of anthropology and archaeology. 1957 to present.
Indexes scholarship on world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Access to more than 200 years of scholarship in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Multi-disciplinary database with more than 1,100 journals, over 200 gold open access journals, and 400 society partners.
Here are several anthropology journals available in the library. You can look up individual journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.