Subject & Research Guides: Anthropology: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia
Contains regional surveys and thematic groupings, as well as many individual entries on various peoples.
Comparative osteology : a laboratory and field guide of common North American animals
A comprehensive photographic guide for use by experienced archaeologists and forensic scientists to distinguish human remains from a range of common animal species.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences
Provides comprehensive coverage of the core theories, methods, techniques, and applications employed by forensic scientists.
Fundamentals of Forensic Anthropology
Serves as a summary and guide to the core material that needs to be mastered and evaluated for the practice of forensic anthropology.
The History of Anthropology: A Critical Window on the Discipline in North America
Regna Darnell offers a critical reexamination of the Americanist tradition centered around the figure of Franz Boas and the professionalization of anthropology as an academic discipline in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology Native Peoples of the World Archaeological Methods and Theory	GN 333 W67 2017 REF GN 345 H37 2015 REF GN3 80 N383 2013 REF CC 75 A654 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology	CC 77 H5 E53 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Archaeology	CC 70 E53 2008 REF
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia	GR 350 A33 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics	P 29 E48 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Prehistory	GN 710 E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife	GR 470 E63 2009 REF
South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia	GR 302 S68 2003 REF
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology	GN 50.3 S74 1991 GEN
History of Physical Anthropology	GN 50.3 H57 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of World Cultures	GN 307 E53 1991 REF