The following databases are suggested starting points for research in Astronomy and Physics. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
Covers 34 physics related journals (10 years full-text coverage; 31 years abstract coverage).
Indexes 1,600 mathematics and related journals and book summaries. Coverage from 1940 to present.
Contains three linked databases indexing sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities scholarly articles.
Full-text articles in highly rated academic journals (over 1,600) in disciplines of science, social science, and business.
Full-text access to over 2000 journals covering the physical sciences, engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Other useful databases:
Multi-disciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Full-text collection of ACM publications covering computing and information technology.
Full-text access to science, technology, and medicine scholarly journals.
Here is a selection of Astronomy & Physics journals available in the library. You can also look up journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.