Subject & Research Guides: Astronomy & Physics: Reference Shelf

Reference Sources

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Astronomers
The two volumes include approximately 1550 biographical sketches on astronomers from antiquity to modern times. This reference provides biographical information on astronomers and cosmologists by utilizing contemporary historical scholarship.
Compendium of Theoretical Physics
Contains the canonical curriculum of theoretical physics. From classical mechanics over electrodynamics, quantum mechanics and statistical physics/thermodynamics, all topics are treated axiomatic-deductively and confimed by exercises, solutions and short summaries.
Concise Catalog of Deep-Sky Objects
Astrophysical information for 550 galaxies, clusters and nebulae.
Fundamental Astronomy
Covers the whole field of modern astronomy in a clear and concise way. While emphasizing both the astronomical concepts and the underlying physical principles, provides a sound basis for more profound studies in the astronomical sciences.
Modern Introductory Physics
An introductory level physics textbook that concentrates on the physics that explains why we believe atoms exist and have the properties we ascribe to them.
Orbits
This is the first reference and handbook since the satellite era began, which describes and derives systematically the orbit theory with analytical solutions of the equations of satellite motion, with respect to all of the extraterrestrial and geopotential disturbances of the second order.
Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
Carefully edited to ensure uniform coverage and style, with extensive cross references, and acts as a guide to the primary research literature.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

American Institute of Physics Desk Reference	QC 61 P49 2003 REF
A Dictionary of Astronomy	QB14 .D52 2007 REF
The Astronomical Almanac	QB 8 U1 2014 REF
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics	QD 65 H3 2012/13 REF
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Physics	QC 5 E52 REF
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics	QB 14 E534 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology	TP 9 E685 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology	Q 123 E497 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Physics	QC 5 E545 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of the Solar System	QB 501 E52 2007 REF