Subject & Research Guides: Economics: Specialized Financial Tools

Specialized Financial Tools

Most databases may be accessed from on or off-campus with your "S" number and password.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and international private and publicly traded companies, bonds, and economic and industry reports.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Access to over 100 million private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, and executive information. Updated daily.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of thousands of corporate and industry related documents, covering over 100 countries and industries.

International Directory of Company Histories
New volume produced annually; use for finding parent and child relationships among companies. 150+ vols., in Library Reference Collection: HD 2721 I57 1988 SMUREF

Statista This link opens in a new window
Portal for statistics, industry reports, and more. Includes 600 industries, 18 consumer markets, and 9 digital markets.
Statista Quick Guide

Capital IQ Handout - A Quick Reference Guide for Academia
Tips on how to access Capital IQ, Look up company/person profiles, market analysis, company screening, etc.
Capital IQ Handout - Company Intelligence
Information on searching company profiles, profile data, financials/valuations, etc.

Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS)
Presents and analyses industry data on a number of economic indicators, using the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada.
- Search by keyword or browse Industry sectors (arranged by Canadian NAICS codes
Financial Performance Data (Industry Canada)
Industry Canada database of financial information and ratios for Canadian industries (small and medium-sized enterprise operations only)
more...less...
Reports can include: (1) selected revenue/expense items; (2) balance sheet; (3) financial ratios; (4) profitable vs. non-profitable businesses.

You can input your own data to compare with the industry averages in a single table.

Industries identified by NAICS codes;
The selected revenue/expense items include:
- total revenue,
- total expenses,
-net profit/loss,
- 15 or 17 individual expense items.
These data are available in two formats – as a percent of total revenue or as thousands of dollars.

The balance sheet items include:
- total assets,
- total liabilities
- total equities,
- with sub-categories for current assets and liabilities.

The financial ratios section includes:
- up to 12 different financial ratios, including the current ratio, debt ratio and gross margin.

The profitable vs. non-profitable businesses section provides the percentage of businesses that are profitable in the selected industry. It also provides total revenue, total expenses and net profit/loss data for the profitable businesses and non-profitable businesses.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Canada 2012
Standard classifications systems such as the Standard Industrial Classification system (SIC) and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are developed by government statistical agencies as a means to group company and industry data. Commercial publishers may develop their own classification system, usually based on the government system, and will often indicate an SIC code or an NAICS code as part of a company description in a directory or database.

TSX Online (Toronto Stock Exchange and TSX E-Review via U of T data services) This link opens in a new window
Historical stock prices and financial data for companies traded on the Toronto Stock exchange.
Mergent Bond Viewer This link opens in a new window
U.S. taxable corporate and municipal bond and retail note data. Includes bond ratings, historical prices portfolio tracking, and offering documents.
Value Line Investment Survey / Value Line Fund Advisor This link opens in a new window
Professional research on approximately 1,700 currently-traded stocks. Provides weekly updates on the financial markets, recommended portfolios, and more. Access limited to four concurrent users.

EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval) - U.S. SEC Filings
Database of Corporate Filings received by United States Securities and Exchange Commission. Search by company name, geography (U.S. States) and SIC Codes and more. Company filings are also available via Mergent Online database. See overview of EDGAR here
SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)
Provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.
Standard & Poor's 500 Guide: America's Most Watched Companies
2010 edition in Library Reference Collection - includes Analyst data, key income and balance sheet stats; use to identify an interesting company.
Call number: HG 4057 A4758 2010 SMUREF

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a variety of business-related datasets. Contains a comprehensive collection of information on stock markets. Graduate student and faculty access only, with registered accounts. Contact the Research Help desk for further assistance.

How to Use Financial Performance Data (Industry Canada Database)

How to Read and Find NAICS Codes
A guide explaining what NAICS codes are and how to find them.
How to Read and Find SIC Codes
A guide explaining what SIC codes are and how to find them.