Subject & Research Guides: Economics: Economic Data & Statistics

Statistics Canada - Key Resources

Statistics Canada

Canada's national statistical office, providing key information on Canada's economy, society and environment.

StatCan-Plus!

Stay on top of Canada's statistical news throughout the day!

The Daily

Announcements of data releases in any format, along with summary articles and links. Click on "releases by subject" to find data releases relevant to your research. See Release Schedule (dates) here.

Data (Interactive Data Tables)

Filter by keywords and more, to find interactive tables, community profiles, and more!

NOTICE the Tabs:

Tables
Profiles of Communities/Regions
Thematic Maps
Public Use Microdata
Data Visualization

Looking for CANSIM Tables? There included here, but the numbers have changed.

You can search the website using the old CANSIM numbers, or look up the new numbers in the Concordance Table.
If you download data files with an .ivt filetype, you will need to download Beyond 20/20 software, available here (Windows version only)

Subjects

Portal of statistics by subject. After selecting a subject, click on "all topics" if you are not sure which subtopic applies to your question.

Analysis

Filter by keywords and more, to find completed research, giving quickish statistics about various subjects.

Notice the Tabs:

Stats in Brief
Articles & Reports
Journals & Periodicals

Surveys

Lists StatCan survey programs by subject and by survey number. After selecting a subject, click on "Complete List" if you are not sure which subtopic applies to your research question.

CANSIM Multidimensional @ CHASS This link opens in a new window
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socio-economic database. Provides statistics on various subjects, such as population and demography, and income, labour, and business performance.

Use CANSIM to view time series tables on a wide variety of socio-economic topics. Tables can be altered by adding/removing different data dimensions (e.g., geography, sex, age group). Data in tables can be downloaded as Excel-compatible CSV files.

As of June 20th, 2018, Cansim Table numbers have been converted to Product ID numbers. Look up these new numbers here:
- Concordance between CANSIM table numbers and the new Product ID numbers.

Statistics Canada Library Catalogue
Includes the complete inventory of current and historical Statistics Canada publications
Government of Canada Publications Searchable Catalogue
This catalogue searches ALL Federal Government publication. To limit to just publications produced by a particular department go into the advance search option and put the department title of your choice in the Department/Agency box. You can further limit your search by filling in other boxes.
The Daily (Statistics Canada)
The Daily is released Monday to Friday at 8:30 a.m. (Eastern time), except during holidays.
Canada at a Glance
Presents current statistics on Canadian demography, education, health and aging, justice, housing, income, labour market, household, economy, travel, finance, agriculture, foreign trade and environment. This booklet also includes important international comparisons, so that readers can see how Canada stacks up against its neighbours. Updated yearly, Canada at a Glance is a very useful reference for those who want quick access to current Canadian statistics.

First time looking for data from Statistics Canada? Please start from here: Statistics Canada - Quick Guide

Bookmark and quickly access your favourite articles, reports, data tables, indicators, and more.
Receive email notifications on our latest data releases.
Participate in online discussions on the StatCan Blog, Chat with an expert and Question of the month.

Specialized Search Tools
Resources to help you find Statistics Canada data and information.
Statistics Canada: Finding and Using Statistics
This guide has been created especially for users needing a step-by-step review on how to find, read and use data, with quick tips on locating information on the Statistics Canada website.
How to Cite Statistics Canada Products
This guide describes how to build your reference when citing Statistics Canada products. Please consult Citing guide for Statistics Canada and other statistical sources and Brief Guide to Citing Canadian Government Documents
Which Census Product Should I Use?
A guide from SFU Library to help you choose the best Census product to use.

Nova Scotia Statistics & Data

The Province of Nova Scotia's Economics and Statistics Division serves as the Nova Scotia Statistics Agency. The agency produces its own data and also uses Statistics Canada tables to develop reports that are specific to the province, including:

Consumer Price Index
Monthly reports on Nova Scotia's CPI
Current Economic Environment & Outlook
Analysis of the economic situation for the Nova Scotia economy and summary of recent events of the global, Canadian and US economies.
Daily Stats: Economics and Statistics
Nova Scotia Department of Finance and Treasury Board
Indicators of Prosperity
A set of indicators which provide a snapshot of the Nova Scotia economy in the Canadian context.
Labour Market Report
Reports on employment and unemployment rate data in Nova Scotia. Derived from StatCan's monthly Labour Force Survey.
Nova Scotia Business Statistics
Provides summary tables on Nova Scotia firms including number of businesses by employment size, business turnover, newly identified businesses,and number of businesses by sector.
Nova Scotia Economic Indicators
A compendium of key economic indicators for Canada and Nova Scotia. Derived from various StatCan tables. As applicable, indicators are updated on a monthly, quarterly, and annual basis.
Municipal Indicators
Financial, demographic and other indicators for each municipality in Nova Scotia.

Search open data portals of Halifax and the government of Nova Scotia:

Halifax Open Data
Search the Halifax Open Data Catalogue
Nova Scotia Government's Open Data Portal
Making government data easier to access for individuals, businesses, and researchers.
User Guide: Open Data Portal (NS Government)
Explore help videos on sorting datasets, filtering, creating charts, and importing and publishing datasets.

Canadian Economic Statistics, Data & Reports (Selected)

Review of Economic Statistics

Every other Friday, the Review of Economic Statistics presents a video discussion on economic statistics of the previous two weeks.

Bank of Canada Rates & Statistics

Current and historical exchange rates, interest rates, price indices, and monetary policy indicators.

Bank of Canada Review

A semi-annual publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking.

Conference Board of Canada e-Library

Contains over 6000 detailed, updated reports on a wide range of Canadian social and economic issues.

Canadian System of Macroeconomic Accounts

A set of statistical statements providing an aggregated portrait of economic activity during a given period. Each account differentiates itself from the others by providing a different perspective of the economy (e.g., industrial, financial, environmental, etc.) or whether it gives information on productivity or from the point of view of transactors (such as consumers and governments).

Statistics Canada (Selected Resources):

Canada's National Economic Accounts - Key Concepts - The Framework

The video describes the overall framework that constitutes Canada's national economic accounts. This online lecture discusses why a framework is needed and which framework Statistics Canada uses to report on the structure and evolution of Canada's economy.

Economic & Financial Data (Interactive Data Tables)

Economic indicators for real sector, fiscal sector, financial sector, external sector and population. Updated daily.

Economic Analysis (EA) Research Paper Series

Economic Indicators

Economic Insights

Statistics Canada's Economic Insights series features concise examinations of economic events, trends, and important structural changes in the economy.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada: Industry by sector, statistics, and more.

See especially the Research and Business Intelligence section

IMF Data Library - International & Government Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Includes the main global and country economic indicators of more than 200 countries, starting in 1948.

UNdata
A database designed by the United Nations Statistics Division which combines several major UN databases and other international organizations into one easy-to-search database.
UN Department of Economic & Social Affairs - Database Directory
Quick access to a variety of UN Economic and Social Affairs data collections. Includes:UN COVID-19 Data Hub, UN Data, UN e-Government Knowledge Database, UN Global SDG Indicators Database, UN SDG Data Hub, UN LDC Data, Ocean Voluntary Commitment Database, UN Public Service Awards Database, Population databases, SDG Acceleration Action Database, SDG Good Practices Database, SIDS Partnerships database, UN Comtrade International Trade Statistics Database, UN System SDG Implementation Database, and Voluntary National Reviews Database.
UNCTADStat
Provides a collection of statistical data relevant to the analysis of international merchandise and service trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment, external financing sources including remittances, population and labor force, commodities, and maritime transport for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings. Data are presented in an analytical way, through the use of rank orderings, growth rates and other special calculations, with a view to facilitate their interpretation. The primary ebook equivalent is UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics
UN Comtrade
Access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010. Contains around 1.5 billion trade records.
National Statistical Offices and Central Banks (web data archive)
The National Statistics Offices and Central Banks Web Archive is a collection developed by librarians at Dartmouth College, the University of Pennsylvania, and Princeton University in partnership (as the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation) with Brown University, Cornell University, Duke University, Johns Hopkins University, Harvard University, and Yale University. The Archive aims to preserve country statistical office and central bank websites that often contain ephemeral statistical data on topics such as economic conditions, population, education, housing, environmental conditions, transportation, health, social services, vital statistics, and more.
Subject: Government, Statistics, Banks and banking
more...less...
Creator: Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation The collection is curated by James Adams (Dartmouth), Marcella Barnhart (Penn), Bobray Bordelon (Princeton), Gwyneth Crowley (Yale), and Joann Donatiello (Princeton).

UN Comtrade includes downloadable data visualizations and analytical tables.
You can also explore their data via the interactive UN-Comtrade dashboard.

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Open access to global development data. Includes development indicators and data by country on hundreds of topics.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Time-series indicators for 210 countries and 18 country aggregates, covering social and economic indicators, health, education and more.

ILOSTAT Database
The ILOSTAT database is the central statistics database of the International Labour Organization (ILO) and provides annual, quarterly and monthly labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and over 200 countries worldwide.
Eurostat
Statistical office of the European communities. Eurostat provides free access to the latest statistical information on the European Union, its members, and other countries. Topics are grouped around the following themes: regional statistics, economy and finance, population and social conditions, industry, trade, agriculture and fisheries, transport, environment and energy, and science and technology.
OECD.Stat
Features country profiles as well as statistical data on a wide range of subjects, including development, finance, labour, health.
Global Microscope 2016: The Enabling Environment for Global Inclusion
This index analyses the overall regulatory and institutional environment for financial inclusion [microfinance environment] in more than 50 countries. It is intended to support practitioners, policymakers, investors, and other stakeholders in advancing financial inclusion—to help them evaluate countries’ progress in this area and to identify further targets that will yield additional benefits.
more...less...
This is the tenth edition of this Economist Intelligence Unit (The EIU) study, commissioned by the Multilateral Investment Fund (MIF), a member of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) Group; the Center for Financial Inclusion at Accion and the MetLife Foundation.

General Statistics

Data.Gov
U.S. Government’s open data - find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Provides estimates showing key national, international and regional aspects of the U.S. economy (GDP, GNP, income, production, investment and export statistics)
U.S. Census Bureau
The U.S. equivalent to Statistics Canada, the US Census Bureau offers official and verifiable data on American socio-economic conditions.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides data on: inflation and consumer spending; wages, earnings and benefits; productivity; safety and health; employment and unemployment; demographics; industries and geography

Historical

National Historical Geographic Information System
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2014.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
A searchable database that provides statistical summaries on the social, economic and political organization of the United States.
Also available in print at Saint Mary's Library: HA 202 A2 REF

The Historical Statistics of the United States by Richard Sutch (Editor); Susan B. Carter (Editor); Scott Sigmund Gartner (Editor); Michael R. Haines (Editor); Alan L. Olmstead (Editor); Gavin Wright (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-01-30
Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial Edition is a stunning achievement and a monumental work of collaborative scholarship providing a comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States.

Economics

Find latest data from the 2016 Census

Statistics Canada - Key Resources

Statistics Canada

StatCan-Plus!

The Daily

Data (Interactive Data Tables)

Subjects

Analysis

Surveys