Economics

Information about the Bank of Canada and its main responsibilities, including financial statistics, publications, and exchange rates

Publications and reports from the Department of Finance Canada including the official international reserves and annual financial reports.

Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) works to improve the standard of living and quality of life for all Canadians. We do this by promoting a labour force that is highly skilled. We also promote an efficient and inclusive labour market.

Industry by sector, statistics, and more.

From the HRSDC’s Labour website, this searchable database allows for access to full text of Canadian agreements from selected bargaining units of 100 or more under provincial jurisdiction, all bargaining units under federal jurisdiction, and all large bargaining units of 500 or more employees. Current and one previous agreement.

Department responsibilities include workplace safety, pensions, apprenticeship, adult education, and more. Related agencies, boards, and commissions include the Labour Relations Board, the Labour Standards Tribunal, the apprenticeship board and the Workers' Compensation Board. Links include safety and labour codes, key legislation, licensing, education and training programs, and services to unionized workplaces;

Provides estimates showing key national, international and regional aspects of the U.S. economy (GDP, GNP, income, production, investment and export statistics)

Links to United States socioeconomic data on the Internet.

Non-profit EPI provides historical labor market, earnings, and income data for the U.S.; economic indicators and snapshots; online calculators; and issue guides on specific topics.

Provides economic information and data about the U.S. economy. Links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications and documents.

Information on U.S. international trade relationship.

A non-partisan research organization that regularly publishes reports on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Provides a guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

ECLAC is a regional body of the United Nations which aims to promote economic development in Latin American and the Caribbean. The website provides information on the organization and current activities, including statistics and publications.

The ILO was founded in 1919, and promotes rights at work, encourages decent employment opportunities, enhances social protection and strengthens dialogue on work-related issues.

The IMF website provides information about the organization, publications, and press releases. Key publications include the World Economic Outlook and the Global Financial Stability Report.

The OECD website provides information about the organization and offers statistics and data covering a wide range of economic and social topics.

The Penn World Tables provide purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some, or all, of the years 1950-2011.

Website of UNESCAP, the regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region.

Access to official United Nations websites. Includes an alphabetical index of all United Nations Organizations (UNOs), a classified index, and a subject index.

Free and open access to global development data. Searchable/browsable by indicator names, topics or countries

Produced by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) economists, the World Economic Outlook Reports analyse global economic developments.

Full-text information on several trade topics, such as: goods & services, intellectual property, environment, development, policy reviews, and research and analysis.

Founded in 1954, APEC provides information on economic progress in Atlantic Canada.

Provides research studies, policy briefs, books and other publications.

This link provides access to the web site of the Library at the Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources at the University of Toronto. The recommended IR/HR web sites are very useful.

A nonprofit center dedicated to providing research for living in today’s changing workplace, changing family and changing community.

Features web guides for labour research from a range of recommended sources, as well as links to Berkeley’s own specialized labour guides including selected bibliographies and more.

See the "Reports" section for detailed reports on global issues including global competitiveness reports, global risks reports, industry reports and more.

The International Co-operative Alliance is a non-profit international association established in 1895 to advance the co-operative social enterprise model. The Alliance is the apex organization for co-operatives worldwide, representing 284 co-operative federations and organizations across 95 countries (figures of January 2015). The members of the Alliance are national level co-operative federations, individual co-operative organizations and government offices concerned with co-operatives.
Search the Alliance's resources library, browse or download their publications (Under the Publications Tab).

The Economic and Social Council is at the heart of the United Nations system to advance the three dimensions of sustainable development – economic, social and environmental. It is the central platform for fostering debate and innovative thinking, forging consensus on ways forward, and coordinating efforts to achieve internationally agreed goals. It is also responsible for the follow-up to major UN conferences and summits.

The main goal of the World Co-operative Monitor project published by the International Co-operative Alliance and Euricse is to develop a multi-dimensional database reporting on the socio-economic value and impact of co-operatives both within a global scenario and in their regional and national contexts.

This organization represents the interests of HR professionals across Canada. Includes information on Council activities, links to member associations, and information on HR and IR events across Canada.
Formerly the Canadian Council of Human Resources Associations.