The following databases are suggested starting points for research in Economics. To access a database off-campus, use your SMU email and password to login. View a full list of the library's databases on the A-Z Databases webpage.
Key Databases:
Full-text coverage of global news and business articles from international and U.S. publications.
Multi-disciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Covers the fields of economics, management, accounting, marketing and finance. Provides full-text articles from more than 2,300 journals (1,100 peer-reviewed).
Full-text articles on current affairs and business issues from Canadian periodicals and news sources.
Full-text scholarly journal articles in the area of business and management science.
Online news database that provides full-text coverage of many Canadian and international newspapers.
Full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed Oxford University Press journals in a range of subjects.
Over 1,700 journals in the humanities and social sciences. Over 700 journals in science and technology.
Indexes scholarship on women's studies, gender studies, and related disciplines with links to full-text in other databases. Coverage from 1972 to present.
Here is a selection of Economics journals available in the library. You can also look up journal titles in the Journals A to Z list.
Do you have a citation to an article? Check our Journal titles A-Z list to see if it is available at the Library.
Also known as peer-reviewed journals and academic journals. Many scholarly journals are peer-reviewed. If a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed, it means that the articles contained within the publication have been anonymously reviewed and evaluated by scholars in the field prior to publication. This process ensures that the quality of the research presented is high.
You can establish if a journal is peer-reviewed by looking at the guidelines for article submission (often found in the front or back of the issue), or by consulting the journal's website for this information. The Library's Research Help desk can also help you identify peer-reviewed journals and articles.