Skip to main content

Faculty Information Guide

A guide to services and support provided by the Patrick Power Library for Faculty at Saint Mary's University

University Archives (420-5508)

ARCHIVES HOURS (Fall and Winter Academic Terms)

Monday, Thursday, Friday 11:00 a.m.to  1:00 p.m.
Tuesday and Wednesday                 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday (Fall & Winter terms) 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Visit the Archives website for summer and holiday hours

The Saint Mary's University Archives is located on the third floor of the Patrick Power Library and includes the Library's Special Collections and the University Records Centre. The Archives also provides guides for dissertation, thesis and MRP submission. See below for more information.

Collections: The Archives collects and receives materials of historical value to Saint Mary's University, including publications of the University's administrative and academic departments and documents of related societies, staff, faculty, students and alumni. Material of a more general historical interest is also collected.

Restrictions: Some collections or documents may have access restrictions. Material may be placed under restriction by the donor or the creator of the records. Researchers are responsible for having the restriction lifted in such cases. Additionally, Archives staff may restrict the use of unprocessed materials or documents in delicate condition.

Photocopying: Copying of materials is possible. Permission from the Archives staff must be obtained by completing a Photocopy Request form. Staff members will generally produce copies of materials within 24 hours, Monday through Friday. The cost is 15 cents per page, plus HST. Photocopies are available for pick-up at the Library Circulation Desk.

Accessing Materials: Researchers who are unable to visit the Archives during open hours may contact the Archives staff at 420-5508. Appointments or special arrangements will be made as necessary, accommodating the schedules of both the Archives and the researcher. When the Archives is closed, archival materials may still be accessed with staff permission. Please inquire at the Library Circulation Desk for more details (420-5547).

Records Centre: The University Archives also houses the Records Centre. University departments and faculty may send semi-active or inactive records to the Centre for temporary storage. Unlike the Archival collection, material in the Records Centre remains the property of the donor and is not arranged or described by Archives staff. The material is kept in a secure area and is not available to researchers. After a pre-determined retention period, the material is generally either transferred to the Archives (if it has historical value) or destroyed (if it has no historical value, or contains confidential information), based on a disposition schedule determined by the donor.

Submission procedures for dissertations, theses and MRPs are available online via the University Archives website at: http://www.smu.ca/academics/archives.html

The library does not arrange for the binding of personal copies of theses.

Faculty who supervise students writing dissertations, theses or MRPs can make things easier for students and themselves by making sure they are familiar with submission guidelines.

Please contact Hansel Cook, Librarian for Archives, Special Collections and Records, (Hansel.Cook@smu.ca, 420-5508 or 496-8750), or visit our website for more information.

Loading ...