Subject & Research Guides: Library Reference Resources : Arts &amp; Social Sciences

Reference image of the Scott Rotary Web Printing Press (1880s). Courtesy of www.oldbookillustrations.com.

Key Reference Sources in Arts & Social Science

The following are a brief list of general reference sources for Arts & Social Science. Below this grouping are more detailed reference sources for each unique subject.

The Canadian Encyclopedia

The Canadian Encyclopedia plays an essential role in providing Canadians and others with accurate, updated information about our people and country. This has been the case even as the Encyclopedia has made the transition from print to CD-ROM, to its present online format.

Dictionary of Human Rights

First Published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Encyclopedia of Language and Education

The second, fully revised edition, offers the newest developments in the language and education including two new volumes of research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization.

Encyclopedia of Political Theory

All humans think about the world they live in, its history and future, and the ideals by which they want to live in relation to others. How we think today decisively influences the world of tomorrow. This encyclopedia attempts to bring greater clarity and understanding to political debate.

Great Lives from History: The 20th Century, 1901-2000

Great Lives from History: The Twentieth Century, 1901-2000 (10 vols.) is the eighth installment in the revised and expanded Great Lives series, which provides in-depth critical essays on important men and women in all areas of achievement, from around the world and throughout history.

Oxford English Dictionary

Contains the complete text of the 2nd edition and the Additions volumes, plus new and revised words.

Perseus Digital Library

The Perseus Project is a digital library project of Tufts University that assembles digital collections of humanities resources. It is hosted by the Department of Classics. Collections of Greco-Roman classics are featured.

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia
Contains regional surveys and thematic groupings, as well as many individual entries on various peoples.
Comparative Osteology: A Laboratory and Field Guide of Common North American Animals
A comprehensive photographic guide for use by experienced archaeologists and forensic scientists to distinguish human remains from a range of common animal species.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences
Provides comprehensive coverage of the core theories, methods, techniques, and applications employed by forensic scientists.
Fundamentals of Forensic Anthropology
Serves as a summary and guide to the core material that needs to be mastered and evaluated for the practice of forensic anthropology.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.
The History of Anthropology: A Critical Window on the Discipline in North America
Regna Darnell offers a critical reexamination of the Americanist tradition centered around the figure of Franz Boas and the professionalization of anthropology as an academic discipline in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology Native Peoples of the World Archaeological Methods and Theory	GN 333 W67 2017 REF GN 345 H37 2015 REF GN3 80 N383 2013 REF CC 75 A654 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology	CC 77 H5 E53 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Archaeology	CC 70 E53 2008 REF
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia	GR 350 A33 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics	P 29 E48 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Prehistory	GN 710 E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife	GR 470 E63 2009 REF
South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia	GR 302 S68 2003 REF
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology	GN 50.3 S74 1991 GEN
History of Physical Anthropology	GN 50.3 H57 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of World Cultures	GN 307 E53 1991 REF

Asian Studies

Online Sources
Print Sources

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
More than 700 alphabetically arranged entries on Japanese culture spanning from the end of the Japanese Imperialist period in 1945, up to the present day. Entries range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer overview essays giving an in-depth treatment of major issues.
The Islamic World : Past and Present
A comprehensive resource containing more than 300 articles.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China	DS 735 A2 B47 2009 REF
Brill’s Encyclopedia of China	DS755 .B86 2009 REF
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia	DS 4 E53 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture	DS 779.23 E52 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Mongolia and the Mongol Empire	DS 798.4 A88 2004 REF
Japan Encyclopedia	DS 821 F73 2002 REF
Southeast Asia: An Historical Encyclopaedia	DS 524 S68 2004 REF
South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia	GR 302 S68 2003 REF
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World	DS 35.53 O96 2009 REF
The Peoples and Places of Ancient Western Asia	DS 57 B89 2009 REF

Atlantic Canada Studies

Online Sources
Print Sources

Cape Bretoniana: An Annotated Bibliography
The Coasts of Canada: A History
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada
This atlas was created by The Royal Canadian Geographical Society in conjunction with the Assembly of First Nations, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the Métis Nation, the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation and Indspire.
Place Names of Atlantic Canada
The Oxford Companion to Canadian History

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Atlantic Provinces Business Directory	HF 5072 A74 A84 2013 REF
Bibliography of Newfoundland	Z 1392 N56 O33 1986 REF
Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador	FC 2154 E52 REF
The Mi'kmaq Bibliography	Z 1395 M5 A45 2000 REF
Nova Scotia Atlas	G 1125 N69 2006 REF
Scott's Directories: Atlantic Industrial Directory	T 12.5 C2 S2612 2012 REF

Black Canadian Bibliography	Z 1395 N39 F73 2000 REF
Canadian Who's Who	FC 25 C36 2011 REF
Oxford Companion to Canadian History	FC 23 O94 2004 REF

Ancient Studies

Online Sources
Print Sources

The Blackwell Guide to Plato's Republic
The Blackwell Guide to Plato's Republic consists of thirteen new essays written by both established scholars and younger researchers with the specific aim of helping readers to understand. Plato's masterwork
A Companion to Aristotle
The Blackwell Companion to Aristotle provides in-depth studies of the main themes of Aristotle's thought, from art to zoology.
A Companion to Socrates
Written by an outstanding international team of scholars, this Companion explores the profound influence of Socrates on the history of Western philosophy.
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt
Encyclopedia opens with a map of the region and a chronology which provides a context for the material which follows. There are fourteen overview essays followed by more than 300 entries in alphabetical order.
The Gods of Ancient Greece : Identities and Transformations
The Gods of Ancient Greece looks at individual gods, but also asks to what extent cult, myth and literary genre determine the nature of a divinity and presents a synchronic and diachronic view of the gods as they functioned in Greek culture until the triumph of Christianity.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is a digital library project of Tufts University that assembles digital collections of humanities resources. It is hosted by the Department of Classics. Collections of Greco-Roman classics are featured.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Barrington Atlas of the Greek & Roman World G 1033 B32 2000 REF

The Cambridge Ancient History D 57 C252 REF

Encyclopedia of the Worlds Ancient Languages P 371 C357 2004 REF

A Companion to the Classical Greek World DF 214 .C58 2006 GEN

The Oxford Classical Dictionary DE 5 O9 1996 REF

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece DF 16 E52 2006 REF

The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature PA 31 H69 1989 REF

Voyages in Classical Mythology BL 727 S66 1994 GEN

Women of Classical Mythology BL 715 B445 1991 GEN

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites DE 59 P7 REF and DE 59 P7 GEN

The Homer Encyclopedia PA 4037 A5 H58 2011 REF

Criminology

Online Sources
Print Sources

21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook
This reference handbook provides straightforward and definitive overviews to 100 key topics in criminology and criminal justice.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
From boot camps to truancy, this encyclopedia provides more than 200 up-to-date, concise and readable entries in a single volume.
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education
A comprehensive source on the law of higher education. Includes excerpts from key court cases.
Forensic Investigation Handbook: An Introduction to the Collection, Preservation, Analysis and Presentation of Evidence
Outlines the general principles of forensic science including an overview of the history of forensic science, an introduction to ballistics, crime scene investigation techniques as well as evidence gathering, processing and documentation procedures.
Handbook of International Law
A concise account of international law by an experienced practitioner, this book explains how states and international organisations, especially the United Nations, make and use international law. The nature of international law and its fundamental concepts and principles are described.
Student Handbook of Criminal Justice And Criminology
Discusses crime and criminology in relation to the media, race, Islam, gender and politics, and considers all the relevant theoretical debates that dominate criminology. Chapters on the police, courts, probation and prisons are included, along with more theoretical chapters regarding crime prevention, youth justice, and restorative and informal justice. The Handbook also includes comparative materials and international criminal courts.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

American Dictionary of Criminal Justice	HV 7411 C48 2005 REF
Contemporary Critical Criminology	HV 6019 .D45 2022
Dictionary of Canadian Law	KE 183 D83 2011 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminology	HV 6017 E5295 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory	HV 6017 E527 2010 REF
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention	HV 6250.3 U5 E55 2010 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminology & Deviant Behavior	HV 6017 E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Psychology & Law	K 346 E53 2008 REF
Encyclopedia of Rape	HV 6558 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of White Collar and Corporate Crime	HV 6768 E63 2005 REF
Greening Criminology in the 21st Century	HV 6401 .G746 2018
Martin's Annual Criminal Code	KE 8804.52 M3 2012 REF

Economics

Online Sources
Print Sources

Comprehensive Dictionary of Economics
Taxatione numerous terms related to subjects that we are unaware of. Here, in this series we have introduced various Dictionaries that will enrich your sphere of knowledge. The series comprises dictionaries on a number of subjects.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture
The three-volume Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world's social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes.
Encyclopedia of Political Economy
This groundbreaking Encyclopedia is the very first fully-refereed A-Z compendium of the main principles, concepts, problems, institutions, schools and policies associated with political economy.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

American Cost of Living Survey	HB 235 U6 A53 2002 REF
Canadian Dictionary of Business and Economics	HC 112 C73 1993 REF
Dictionary of Economics	HB 61 B33 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of the Developing World	HC 59.7 E52 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology	HB99.7 .E528 1997 REF HM 35 I565 2006 REF
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History	HC 15 O94 2003 REF
Palgrave Encyclopedia of World Economic History	HC 15 B355 2010 REF
The Value of a Dollar	HB 235 U6 D477 REF
World Economic Outlook	HC 59 W645 GEN
World Income Distribution 2005/06	HC 79 I5 W673 2005 REF

English Language & Literature

Online Sources
Print Sources

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
A guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases from across the English-speaking world.
Dictionary of National Biography (on campus only) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 60,000 illustrated biographies of influential individuals from British history. Available on campus only.

A Companion to Postcolonial Studies
This volume examines the changes that have occurred and are still occurring in the aftermath of European colonization of the globe from 1492 to 1947.
Encyclopedia of Literary Romanticism
This ebook can be used by all Novanet patrons. SMU patrons will require an S number and password to access the book.
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada
This resource book provides information about writers and writing in Canada, about oral literatures, and about a range of related subjects, including the social and cultural institutions that have an impact on literary expression and literary production.
A History of Victorian Literature
Incorporating a broad range of contemporary scholarship, A History of Victorian Literature presents an overview of the literature produced in Great Britain between 1830 and 1900, with fresh consideration of both major figures and some of the era's less familiar authors.
Introduction to Literary Studies
This concise introduction provides a general survey of various aspects of textual studies for college students who intend to specialize in English or American literature and want to acquire a basic familiarity with the entire field.
Modernism
This guide helps readers to engage with the major critical debates surrounding literary modernism. A judicious selection of key critical works on literary modernism, It presents a critical history from the earliest reviews to the most recent theoretical assessments, and discusses how modernism relates to modernity and odernization, and to other literary and cultural movements. Texts have been selected for their relevance to the questions surrounding modernism, and for their accessibility to readers with a limited knowledge of the modernist canon. It includes a glossary and an annotated bibliography.
The Poetry Handbook
The Poetry Handbook is a lucid and entertaining guide to the poet's craft, and an invaluable introduction to practical criticism for students.
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature
The second edition of the acclaimed Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature has been thoroughly updated with more than 340 new entries on new writers, new books, and extended entries on established authors.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

All Things Austen	PR 4036 A275 2005 REF
Dictionary of Literary Biography	PN 451 D52 REF
Dictionary of Literary Influence Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Fiction	Z 1039 C45 D53 REF PS 374 C48 T57 2009 REF
Encylopedia of Feminist Literature Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory	PN 471 W455 2004 REF PN 81 E435 2011 REF
Encyclopedia of American Literature	PS 21 E537 2004 REF
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia	PN 41 B4 2008 REF
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada	PS 8015 E53 2002 REF
Feminist Companion to Literature in English	PR 111 F45 1990 REF
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics	PN 1021 N39 1993 REF
Oxford Companion to English Literature	PR 19 O94 2009 REF
Oxford Companion to Shakespeare	PR 2892 O94 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of the Novel	PN 41 E485 2011 REF

Geography

Online Sources
Print Sources

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Encyclopedia of Geography	GE 63 E554 2010 REF
Columbia Gazetteer	G 103.5 C35 REF
Encyclopedia of GIS	G 70.212 E53 2008 REF
Encyclopedia of Human Geography	GF 4 E54 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Geomorphology	GB 400.3 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of the Arctic	G 606 E49 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History	GF 10 E63 2004 REF
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Physical Geography	GB 10 E53 1994 REF
Historical Atlas of Canada	G 1116 S1 H39 2002 REF
Times Atlas of the World	G 1021 T5644 2005 REF
World Atlas of the Oceans	G 2800 W464 2001 GEN Oversized (third floor)
Oxford Atlas of the World	G 1021 A7545 2009 REF

History

Online Sources
Print Sources

The Oxford Companion to Canadian History

Dictionary of National Biography (on campus only) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 60,000 illustrated biographies of influential individuals from British history. Available on campus only.

Encyclopedia of African History
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia of African History is a new A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.
Great Lives from History: The 20th Century, 1901-2000
Great Lives from History: The Twentieth Century, 1901-2000 (10 vols.) is the eighth installment in the revised and expanded Great Lives series, which provides in-depth critical essays on important men and women in all areas of achievement, from around the world and throughout history
Historical Dictionary of Canada
Presents the country, traces its history, takes a good look at the current situation, and offers some insight into the future. It does so through concise and informative entries on significant persons, places, events, institutions, and ethnic groupings.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Historical Dictionary of Canada	FC 23 .G68 2011 REF
American Culture and Intellectual History	E 169.1 E624 2001 REF
Cambridge Ancient History	D 57 C252 REF
Wiley-Blackwell Dictionary of Modern European History Since 1789	D 299 A84 2011 REF
Cambridge Medieval History	D 117 C3 1924 REF
Companion to Historiography	D 13 C626 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of African History	DT 20 E53 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Thought	CB 415 E53 2004 REF
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing	D 13 G47 1998 REF
Larousse Dictionary of World History	D 9 L33 1995 REF
The New Cambridge Modern History	D 208 N4 REF
Oxford Companion to World War II	D 740 O94 1995 REF
Encyclopedia of Latin America	F 1406 E5155 2010 REF

Indigenous Studies

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador	FC 2154 E52 REF
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples	FC 104 E56 1999 REF
The Mi'kmaq Bibliography	Z 1395 M5 A45 2000 REF
Nova Scotia Atlas	G 1125 N69 2006 REF

Oxford Companion to Canadian History	FC 23 O94 2004 REF

The library has many language dictionaries, historical and contemporary. Search the catalogue by language with the keyword: dictionary. A few titles are listed below as examples:

Alberta Elders' Cree Dictionary	PM 988 L42 1998
Blackfoot Grammar	PM 2342 F68 2017 PM 2342 F68 2017
Dictionary of the language of the Micmac Indians who reside in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Cape Breton, and Newfoundland	PM 1793 R3 1972
Kilusuaqaney wi'katikin: Newfoundland Micmac Picture Dictionary	PM 1793 H48
The Metallic Mìgmaq-English Reference Dictionary	PM 1793 M48 2005
Online Resource Mi'gmaq/Mi'kmaq Talking Online Dictionary

SMU Newspaper databases

Globe and Mail (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The digitized, full-image version of the The Globe and Mail newspaper. Coverage from 1844 to 2019.
Toronto Star (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Archive contains digitized full-image versions of the complete contents of the Toronto Star newspaper from 1894 to 2020.
Eureka (Newspapers and News Media) This link opens in a new window
Online news database that provides full-text coverage of many Canadian and international newspapers.

Newspapers (not from SMU databases)

Ku'ku'kwes
Independent Indigenous news website covering stories from Atlantic Canada.
Mi’kmaq Maliseet Nations News
The MMNN is a First Nation owned, community focused monthly newspaper with a particular expertise in Mi’kmaq culture.
Inukitut Magazine Archive
Free Online Magazine Archive
Windspeaker

Global Development Studies

Online Sources
Print Sources

Dictionary of Human Rights
First Published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Economic Development
This highly accessible undergraduate textbook written by a scholar active in economic research in developing countries, is replete with real-world examples.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism
This reference source offers nearly 100,000 words of new material, along with completely updated original entries, expanded coverage of critical topics, and new photos and illustrations.
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
This comprehensive reference includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Encyclopedia of the Developing World	HC 59.7 E52 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity	HV 6322.7 E532 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Globalization	JZ 1318 E63 2007 REF
Encyclopedia of International Development	HD 82 E547 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist Groups	HN 49 R33 A85 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History	GF 10 E63 2004 REF
Europa World Year Book	JN 1 E85 2012 REF
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights	JC 571 M3243 2000 REF
Political Handbook of the World	JF 37 P6 2012 REF
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women	HQ 1115 R69 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of World Poverty	HV 12 E54 2006 REF
World Development Indicators	HC 59.69 W62 REF

Irish Studies

Online Sources
Print Sources

Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
Contains over 11,000 biographical articles of notable Irish men and women.

Atlas of Irish History
Medieval Ireland: An Encyclopedia
Medieval Ireland: An Encyclopedia brings together in one authoritative resource the multiple facets of life in Ireland before and after the Anglo-Norman invasion of 1169, from the sixth to sixteenth century. Multidisciplinary in coverage, this A–Z reference work provides information on historical events, economics, politics, the arts, religion, intellectual history, and many other aspects of the period
Griffith's Valuation
Primary valuation was the first full-scale valuation of property in Ireland. It was overseen by Richard Griffith and published between 1847 to 1869.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors. Call numbers with OVRSZ are on the third floor in the Oversized collection.

Atlas of the Irish Revolution DA 962 A7855 2017 REF

Oxford Companion to Irish History	DA 912 O94 2004 REF
Celtic Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia	CB 206 C45 2006 REF
Dictionary of Irish Literature	PR 8706 D5 1996 REF
Dictionary of Irish Philosophers	B 1111 D53 2004 REF
The Encyclopedia of Ireland	DA 906 E52 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture	DA 912 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Irish Spirituality	BL 980 I7 J47 2000 REF
Irish Elections 1948-77 : Results and Analysis	JN 1541 I76 2009 OVRSZ (3rd floor)
Focloir Gaeilge-Bearla (Irish Language Dictionary)	PB 1291 O25 1977 REF
The Gaelic-English Dictionary	PB 1591 M37 2004 REF
Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Celtic	PB 1083.5 M38 2009 REF

Linguistics

Online Sources
Print Sources

Atlas of North American English : Phonetics, Phonology, and Sound Change: a Multimedia Reference Tool
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
Encyclopedia of Language and Education
Speech Acoustics and Phonetics
Structure and Variation in Language Contact
The papers in this collection reflect on the interplay between structure and variation in contact languages, both synchronically and diachronically. The papers provide evidence of the importance of pid-gin/creole studies as a subfield of linguistics and its contributions to general linguistic theory.
World Atlas of Language Structures
The World Atlas of Language Structures is a book and CD combination displaying the structural properties of the world's languages. 142 world maps and numerous regional maps - all in colour - display the geographical distribution of features of pronunciation and grammar, such as number of vowels, tone systems, gender, plurals, tense, word order, and body part terminology.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors. Call numbers with OVRSZ are on the third floor in the Oversized collection.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences	P 29 C28 2009 REF
Atlas of the World's Languages	G 1046 E3 A8 REF
Atlas of North American English	PE 2808 L26 2006 OVRSZ
Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages	P 371 C357 2004 REF
Compendium of the World's Languages	P 371 C36 2000 REF
Concise Encyclopedia of Languages of the World	P 29 C66 2009 REF
Concise Encyclopedia of Pragmatics	P 99.4 P72 C62 2009 REF
Concise Encyclopedia of Semantics	P 325 C66 2009 REF
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics	P 29 C65 2003 REF
Dictionary of Sociolinguistics	P 40 D477 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory	P 87.5 E496 2009 REF
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics	P 29 E48 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Semiotics	P 99 E64 1998 REF
Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia	P 29 R67 2010 REF
World Atlas of Language Structures	P 143 W67 2005 OVRSZ

Languages and Cultures

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
PJ 6031 E53 2006 REF
Oxford English-Arabic Dictionary of Current Usage
PJ 6640 O93 REF
Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary: English-Arabic, Arabic-English
PJ 6640 O94 2010 REF
A Reference Grammar of Modern Standard Arabic
E-book. A Reference Grammar of Modern Standard Arabic is a comprehensive handbook on the structure of Arabic.
See More: Arabic Language Dictionaries
Links to more dictionaries in the Library's catalogue.

201 Mandarin Chinese Verbs; Compounds and Phrases for Everyday Usage
PL 1235 C5
Chinese Language(s): A Look Through the Prism of The Great Dictionary of Modern Chinese Dialects
E-book
A Dictionary of the Chinese Particles
PL 1237 D56 REF
The Oxford Chinese Dictionary: English-Chinese, Chinese-English
PL 1455 O88 2010 REF
Syntax of Chinese
E-book
Translating China for Western Readers : Reflective, Critical, and Practical Essays
E-book. Explores the challenges of translating Chinese works for Western readers, particularly premodern texts.
See More: Chinese Language Dictionaries
Links to more dictionaries in the Library's catalogue.

501 French Verbs
PC 2271 K378 1996
Dictionnaire Québécois d'Aujourd'hui
PC 3643 D45 1993 REF
Le Glossaire Acadien
PC 3642 P65 1994 REF
Harrap's New Standard French and English Dictionary
PC 2640 H317 REF
See More: French Language Dictionaries
Links to more dictionaries in the Library's catalogue.

501 German Verbs
PF 3271 S85 1990 REF
Collins German Dictionary
PF 3640 C68 2019
The Oxford Duden German Dictionary: German-English/English-German
E-book
Phraseological Dictionary: English-German General Vocabulary in Technical and Scientific Texts
E-book
Practical Dictionary of German Usage
PF 3460 B35 2001 REF
A usage dictionary English-German & German-English = Gebrauchswörterbuch : Englisch-Deutsch & Deutsch-Englisch
E-book
See More: German Language Dictionaries
Links to more dictionaries in the Library's catalogue.

Basic Japanese-English Dictionary
PL 679 B37 2004 REF
Tense and Aspect in Modern Colloquial Japanese
E-book
Turn-taking in Japanese Conversation: A Study in Grammar and Interaction
E-book
Vaccari's Standard English-Japanese Dictionary
PL 679 V33 1967 REF
See More: Japanese Language Dictionaries
Links to more dictionaries in the Library's catalogue.

501 Spanish Verbs
PC 4271 K38 2003
Basic Spanish: A Grammar and Workbook
E-book
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary
PC 4640 O94 2003 REF
Spanish: An Essential Grammar
E-book
Using Spanish Vocabulary
E-book
See More: Spanish Language Dictionaries
Links to more dictionaries in the Library's catalogue.

Philosophy

Online Sources
Print Sources

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy	B 41 B79 2004 REF
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy	B 41 C35 1999 REF
The Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy	B 126 E496 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Ethics	BJ 63 E45 2001 REF
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy	B 51 O94 2005 REF
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy	B 51 R68 1998 GEN
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion	B 104 V47 2008 REF
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy	B 121 E53 2001 REF
Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century German Philosophers	B 2615 D53 2010 REF

Political Science

Online Sources
Print Sources

Oxford Research Encyclopedias of International Studies
International Studies Online (also known as the International Studies Encyclopedia) is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations.
The Language of Canadian Politics: A Guide to Important Terms and Concepts
Yearbook of the United Nations
The Yearbook is the principal reference work on the United Nations and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's concerns and activities. The complete collection (1946-) is available here.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
This two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Political Thought	JA 61 B57 1987 GEN
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics	JA 61 C66 2004 GEN
Encyclopedia of Political Theory	JA61 .E515 2010 REF
Europa World Year Book	JN 1 E85 2014 REF
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought	JA 61 S37 2007
Political Handbook of the World	JF 37 P6 2012 REF
Political Parties of the World	JF 2051 P64 1996 GEN
Statesman's Yearbook	JA 51 S7 2015 REF
Yearbook of International Organizations	JX 1904 A42 2014/15 REF
Canada Year Book	HA 744 S81 2011 REF
Canadian Parliamentary Guide	JL 5 A4 2015 REF
Oxford Handbook of Canadian Politics	JL 15 .O94 2010 GEN

Psychology

Online Sources
Print Sources

AccessScience
Features searchable articles from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (10th ed.). Provides fast and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Occupational Health and Safety
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion
Encyclopedia of Psychology of Decision Making
Sage Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

APA Dictionary of Psychology APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology	BF 31 A65 2007 REF BF 76.5 A73 2012 REF
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology	BF 31 E52 2010 REF
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5	RC 455.2 C4 D536 2013 REF
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories	BF 31 E44 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior	HV 5804 E53 2009 REF
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior	R 726.5 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology	HF 5548.8 E498 2007 GEN
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology	HM 1007 E53 2007 REF

The Study of Religion

Online Sources
Print Sources

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary	BS 440 A54 1992 REF
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism	BL 1105 B75 2009 REF
Encyclopedia of Islam	DS 37 E523 REF
Cambridge History of Islam	DS 35.6 C3 2010 REF
The Encyclopedia of Judaism	BM 50 E63 1999 GEN
Encyclopaedia Judaica	DS 102.8 E496 2007 REF
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion	B 104 .V47 2008 REF
The Encyclopedia of Religion	BL 31 E46 2005 REF
The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature	BL 31 E53 2005 REF
The Encyclopedia of Religion and War	BL 80.3 E53 2004 REF
The Encyclopaedia of Sikhism	BL 2017.3 E64 1997 GEN
Encyclopedia of Buddhism	BQ 128.E617 2007 REF
New Catholic Encyclopedia	BX 841 N44 2003 REF
Religious Rites, Rituals and Festivals	BL 31 E47 2004 GEN

Sociology

Online Sources
Print Sources

The Canadian Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Sociology Research
This book presents current research and findings in the study of sociology. Topics discussed include social capital, entrepreneurial capital and economic growth; disruption of social development in children with autism spectrum disorders; children's social interactions in cultural context; everyday theorizing and the construction of knowledge; participation, pedagogy and practice in design education; community participation in formulating sustainable forest policy; increasing the economic sustainability of online communities and a comparison between theoretical and naive definitions of community.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Contains new information on well-known subjects, including surprising facts that may counter common assumptions and research in areas of study where the impact of gender has been traditionally overlooked·
Encyclopedia of Gerontology
Explores the many influences that bring change to individuals over the life span. Influences range from genetics to physiology, sociology, psychology, and anthropology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
An authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of leading experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development, education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.
Sociology: The Key Concepts
An A-Z guide to the full range of sociological thought, bringing together an international range of highly regarded contributors from the full spectrum of disciplines.
Sociology of Work: An Encyclopedia
How did it come about that work dominates so many parts of our lives and our psyche? This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects that seek to address that question, ranging from business and management to anthropology, sociology, social history, psychology, politics, economics, and health.
Studying Society: The Essentials
Combines study skills and research methods to provide students with an invaluable guide to techniques, practical skills and methods of study.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements	HN 57 E594 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work	HV 12 C36 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society	HQ 767.84 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Community	HM 756 E53 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminology	HV 6017 E5295 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies	GN 495.6 C37 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America	HV 12 E497 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities	GN 495.4 E63 2005 REF
Handbook of Death and Dying	HQ 1073 H36 2003 REF
Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural and Historical Encyclopedia	HQ 1090.3 M436 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement	H 62 E53 2005 REF

Women and Gender Studies

Online Sources
Print Sources

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence	HV 6626 .E534 2007 REF
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work	HQ 115 E53 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender	HQ 16 E52 2007 REF
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime	HV 6046 E56 2000 REF
Girl Culture: An Encyclopedia	HQ 798 G523 2008 REF
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide	HQ 1726 G74 2003 REF
Historical Dictionary of Feminism	HQ 1115 B65 2004 REF
LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia	HQ 73.3 U6 L43 2009 REF
Sex from Plato to Paglia: A Philosophical Encyclopedia	HQ 12 S423 2006 REF
International Encyclopedia of Women	HQ 1115 R69 2000 REF
Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report	HQ 1453 W66 2006 REF

Library Reference Resources

Key Reference Sources in Arts & Social Science

Anthropology

Asian Studies

Atlantic Canada Studies

Atlantic Provinces Business Directory

Ancient Studies

Criminology

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Economics

English Language & Literature

Geography

History

Indigenous Studies

Global Development Studies

Irish Studies

Linguistics

Languages and Cultures

Philosophy

Political Science

Psychology

The Study of Religion

Sociology

Women and Gender Studies