Subject & Research Guides: Library Reference Resources : Business & Economics

Reference image of the Royal Exchange in London (1837). Courtesy of www.oldbookillustrations.com.

Key Reference Sources in Business & Economics

The following are a brief list of general reference sources for Business & Economics. Below this grouping are more detailed reference sources for each unique subject.

Canadian Trade Index

Offers an industrial directory for companies operating in Canada. This website provides company information and product information. It can be searched by product or company or browsed by product.

CanLII - Canadian Legal Information Institute

Provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.

Comprehensive Dictionary of Economics

Taxatione numerous terms related to subjects that we are unaware of. Here, in this series we have introduced various Dictionaries that will enrich your sphere of knowledge. The series comprises dictionaries on a number of subjects.

Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture

The three-volume Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world's social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes.

Encyclopedia of Corporate Social Responsibility

The "Encyclopedia of Corporate Social Responsibility" has been conceived to assist researchers and practitioners to align business and societal objectives.

Encyclopedia of Finance

The encyclopedia, comprised of over 1000 individual definitions and chapters, is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource in the field, integrating the most current terminology, research, theory, and practical applications.

Below is a selection of the many ebooks in the accounting subjects we have available for you. Please search the catalog for titles or subjects not listed below.

Encyclopedia of Corporate Social Responsibility
The "Encyclopedia of Corporate Social Responsibility" has been conceived to assist researchers and practitioners to align business and societal objectives.
Routledge Companion to Critical Accounting
Call Number: HF5636 .R683 2018 + ONLINE
The Routledge Companion to Qualitative Accounting Research Methods
This comprehensive compilation provides an essential guide to the choice and execution of qualitative research approaches in this field. The contributions are grouped into four sections: Worldview and paradigms Methodologies and strategies Data collection methods and analysis Experiencing qualitative field research: personal reflections
Strategic Management Accounting: A Practical Guidebook with Case Studies

Books with REF in the call number are found on the first floor. Call numbers with GEN are on the second floor.

Accountants' Handbook 2012 HF 5621 .A22 2012

Designed as a single reference source that provides answers to all reasonable questions on accounting and financial reporting asked by accountants, auditors, bankers, lawyers, financial analysts, and other preparers and users of accounting information.

Accounting Standards by Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales HF5601 .A22 2014/2015 REF

Canadian Business Compliance Manual HF5635 .W55 REF

Canadian Key Business Directory HF3223 .C24 2014 REF

The Complete CPA Reference HF5636.D377 2012

Covers useful topics such as IFRS standards, internal control over financial reporting financial measures, ratios, and procedures. Includes complete coverage of the Risk Assessment Auditing Standards and Standards of the PCAOB Incorporates Accounting Standards Codification (ASC) throughout the book.

A Dictionary of Accounting and Auditing HR5621 .L96 2005 REF

This dictionary presents around 10,000 concise entries defining words and phrases currently in use in these fields in the US, UK, Canada, and Australia. Included are some slang terms as well as technical jargon.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance HF1001 .E466 2014 REF

Designed for the non-specialist, the Encyclopedia Of Business And Finance is a two-volume complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems.

Financial Reporting in Canada under IFRS HF5681 .B2 C33 REF

A Guide through International Financial Reporting Standards HF5626 .G85 2013 REF

International Financial Reporting Standards HF5626 .I582 REF

Economics

Online Sources
Print Sources

Use reference books as background sources to get quick facts or information, or an overview of a subject. Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks.

Comprehensive Dictionary of Economics
Taxatione numerous terms related to subjects that we are unaware of. Here, in this series we have introduced various Dictionaries that will enrich your sphere of knowledge. The series comprises dictionaries on a number of subjects.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture
The three-volume Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world's social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes.
Encyclopedia of Political Economy
This groundbreaking Encyclopedia is the very first fully-refereed A-Z compendium of the main principles, concepts, problems, institutions, schools and policies associated with political economy.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

American Cost of Living Survey	HB 235 U6 A53 2002 REF
Canadian Dictionary of Business and Economics	HC 112 C73 1993 REF
Dictionary of Economics	HB 61 B33 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of the Developing World	HC 59.7 E52 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology	HB99.7 .E528 1997 REF HM 35 I565 2006 REF
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History	HC 15 O94 2003 REF
Palgrave Encyclopedia of World Economic History	HC 15 B355 2010 REF
The Value of a Dollar	HB 235 U6 D477 REF
World Economic Outlook	HC 59 W645 GEN
World Income Distribution 2005/06	HC 79 I5 W673 2005 REF

Entrepreneurship

Online Sources
Print Sources

Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
The Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship is a three-volume electronic and print reference that uniquely covers the broad spectrum of topics relating to the process of creativity and innovation, from a wide variety of perspectives (e.g., economics, management, psychology, anthropology, policy, technology, education, the arts) and modes (individual, organization, industry, nation, region).
Starting and Running a Small Business for Canadians for Dummies All-in-One by John Aylen
The comprehensive, six-in-one package small business entrepreneurs can't afford to be without.
Business: The Ultimate Resource
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
An international bestseller, BUSINESS- The Ultimate Resource is a one-stop reference and interactive tool covering all aspects of today's world of work.

Canadian Trade Index
Offers an industrial directory for companies operating in Canada. This website provides company information and product information. It can be searched by product or company or browsed by product.
Canadian Trademarks Database
The Canadian Trademarks Database is one of the intellectual property databases available through the Government of Canada website.

World Encyclopedia of Entrepreneurship
Call Number: HB 615 W68 2011 SMREF
This comprehensive reference work, written by some of the most eminent academics in the field, contains entries on numerous aspects of entrepreneurship.
Wiley International Encyclopedia of Marketing by Naresh Malhotra (Editor-In-Chief); Jagdish N. Sheth (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: HF 5415 W54 2011
With over 300 entries from hundreds of global experts, this is one of the premier marketing reference resources available worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Entrepreneurship by Donald L. Sexton; Calvin A. Kent; Karl H. Vesper
Call Number: HB 615 E59
Reviews the state of entrepreneurship research from multiple frameworks, including sociological and psychological views of the entrepreneur, economic development, venture capital, and education.
Encyclopedia of Small Business
Call Number: HD 62.7 H553 2017 SMREF (2 volume set)
One-stop source for information on a wide range of topics of interest to small business owners.

Finance & Management Science

Online Sources
Print Sources

Encyclopedia of Finance
The Encyclopedia of Finance, Second Edition, comprised of over 1000 individual definitions and chapters, is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource in the field, integrating the most current terminology, research, theory, and practical applications.
Handbook of Finance and Development
The Handbook of Finance and Development provides a thorough assessment of the existing research on the relationship between the financial system and economic growth.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management	HD 30.15 B455 2005 REF
The Blue Book of Canadian Business	HF 5071 B58 2012 REF
Business: The Ultimate Resource	HD 38.15 B8 2002 REF
Canadian Key Business Directory	HF 3223 C24 2012 REF
D & B Million Dollar Directory	HC 102 D8 2009 REF
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance	HF 1001 E466 2007 REF
Encyclopedia of Leadership	HD 57.7 E53 2004 REF
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor	HD 8066 H57 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology	HF 5548.8 E498 2007 GEN
Human Resources Glossary	HF 5549 A23 T73 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance	HG 106 E53 2010 REF

Management & Business Administration

Online Sources
Print Sources

CanLII - Canadian Legal Information Institute
Provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Search for abbreviations found in English language legal publications (law reports and law periodicals), from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including more than 800 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Encyclopedia of Finance
The encyclopedia, comprised of over 1000 individual definitions and chapters, is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource in the field, integrating the most current terminology, research, theory, and practical applications.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Business & Management
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedias combine the speed & flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.

Encyclopedia of Leadership
Key Features: - Four volumes - 400 substantive articles, ranging in length from 1000-6000 words - 200 photographs and other illustrations - 250 sidebars drawn from public records, newspaper accounts, memoirs, and ethnography Article categories: - Biographies - Case studies - Followers and followership - Gender issues - Leadership in different disciplines - Leadership in different domains - Leadership styles - Personality characteristics - Situational factors - Theories and concepts ; Includes a selected bibliography of books related to leadership
Handbook of Strategic e-Business Management by Francisco J. Martínez-López (Editor)
ISBN: 3642397476
Publication Date: 2013-11-19
This research handbook provides a comprehensive, integrative, and authoritative resource on the main strategic management issues for companies within the e-business context.
Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science
This encyclopedia provides decision-makers in Operations Research with a comprehensive overview of the range of ideas and forces that combine in OR/MS. New topics for the third edition, include yield management, flexible queuing systems, service management, local search, tolerance sensitivity analysis, influence diagrams, knowledge management, strategy and policy making, school districting, computational biology.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management	HD 30.15 B455 2005 REF
The Blue Book of Canadian Business	HF 5071 B58 2012 REF
Business: The Ultimate Resource	HD 38.15 B8 2002 REF
Canadian Key Business Directory	HF 3223 C24 REF
Canadian Master Labour Guide	KE 3109 C3 ed.31 REF
D & B Million Dollar Directory	HC 102 D8 2009 REF
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance	HF 1001 E466 2007 REF
Global Executive	HF 5549.5 E45 G554 2005 REF
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor	HD 8066 H57 2004 REF
Human Resources Glossary	HF 5549 A23 T73 2004 REF

Marketing

Online Sources
Print Sources

The Advanced Dictionary of Marketing
This advanced dictionary of marketing focuses on leading-edge terminology for use by people who are serious about the theory and practice of marketing.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture
The three-volume Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world's social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena.

Books with REF in the call number are located on the first floor. Books with GEN are on the second or third floors.

Atlantic Provinces Business to Business Sales and Marketing Directory	HF 5072 A74 A84 2012 REF
Canada Yearbook	HA 744 S81 2011 REF
Canadian Demographics	HC 111 F5 2012 REF
Consumer USA	HF 5415.1 C6 2009 REF
Encyclopedia of Advertising	HF 5803 A38 2003 REF
European Marketing Data and Statistics	HA 1107 E87 2012 REF
Global Market Share Planner	HD 2757.15 G56 2004 REF
International Marketing Data and Statistics	HA 42 I56 2012 REF
Market Research Handbook (Statistics Canada)	HC 111 A19 2008 REF
Who Buys What	HF 5415.32 W56 2006 REF
Wiley International Encyclopedia of Marketing	HF 5415 W54 2011 REF