Image source: Saint Mary's Patrick Power Library website.
The entrance to the Patrick Power Library is on the first floor of the Atrium, next to the EIT Help Desk. The entrance is a ramp, allowing for wheelchair accessibility. Immediately upon entering the library, you will see the Circulation Desk. Turning left into the library, you'll pass the Research Help Desk. On the first floor, you will also find:
Need information? Not sure where to search, or how to start? We can help! Stop by the Research Help Desk or chat with us online. You can also book a one-on-one appointment with a librarian (either online or in person). For more information, visit the Research Help page or watch this brief instructional YouTube video.
Access Services staff are pleased to assist you with all library circulation matters. At the Circulation Desk, you can get information about borrowing library materials, placing holds, renewing materials on loan, and borrowing reserve items. You can learn more about Access Services by watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
The EIT (Enterprise Information Technology) Help Desk is the place to go when you need help setting up and managing your computer accounts and passwords, connecting to the SMU WiFi network, or troubleshooting technology related issues. You can learn more about EIT by watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
Group Study Rooms are spaces that Saint Mary’s students can book for small group study. Bookings are limited to two-hour blocks of time, with a limit of two bookings per day (per student). You can book a student study room now! Learn more about the library's group study rooms by visiting the "Book a Student Study Room" page or watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
This is the Library Classroom, where classes, workshops, and events are held. You can find study buddies here every Thursday from 1:30 – 3:30 for Study Hall! Be supported by your fellow classmates, get research help, and enjoy some snacks. You can learn more about the library classroom by watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
These computers are for Saint Mary’s students, staff, and faculty use. To log in, use your SMU email address and password. From here, you can work on assignments, access the library's online resources, and print.
These guest computers do not require a SMU username or password. Anyone can use them to search the library's catalogue, browse the internet, or print. Printouts can be picked up and paid for at the Circulation Desk. Visit our Library Q&A page for more information on how to print.
Use these printers to print or scan from library computer workstations. Your print job will be submitted to a print queue. To pick up your printout, simply enter your S number on the printer's pinpad, and voila! For help with printing, ask a staff member at the Research Help Desk or visit our Library Q&A page for more information on how to print. You can learn more about printing at the library by watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
This is the print reference collection at the Patrick Power Library, where you will find many of the library's encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other types of reference books. These books are shelved by topic and call number. There are also more reference materials in our online collection. If you need help finding reference material, please visit us at the Research Help Desk. You can learn more about the reference collection by watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
This is the New Books area, where you will find new books that have been recently added to the collection. Current issues of magazines and newspapers are also shelved in this area. Come here to browse our new additions and relax in our comfortable chairs! You can learn more about this area by watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
This is the library's microform collection, where you will find older newspapers, magazines, and other materials that are stored on microfilm or microfiche, and the equipment needed to view them. Please ask at the Research Help Desk for assistance with accessing microforms. You can learn more about accessing the microform collection by watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
