By student request, the third floor of the Patrick Power Library is a quiet zone meant for studying, reading, researching, and completing assignments. You’ll find lots of seating next to windows, letting in natural light. Just remember to quiet your cell phone. Watch this brief instructional YouTube video to view the study spaces available on the third floor of the library. On the third floor, you'll also find:
The Archives contains university publications, documents, photographs, yearbooks, and other materials that are historically relevant to Saint Mary’s. You can access many items through our online Institutional Repository, including Saint Mary's theses, dissertations, and special collections. You can also make an appointment with our staff to come in and view physical materials. We have a neat collection of old and rare books – including the Salzinnes Antiphonal, a massive, illuminated manuscript from 16th century Belgium. Check out the Historical Timeline to learn more about Saint Mary’s!
The library’s collection of physical books is in what libraries call the “stacks.” Here on the third floor, you can find books with call numbers beginning with PQ through ZA. You can find information about call numbers on our library website and by watching this brief instructional YouTube video. Remember, the library also has many more books available in electronic format, which you can find in the Novanet catalogue.
Magazines and journals in print format are shelved on the third floor alphabetically by title. The library has many more journals available online through our databases. If you need any assistance with these items, please don’t hesitate to reach out to a member of the Research Help team! To view the third floor journals collection, watch this brief instructional YouTube video.
Here you’ll find some of the library’s oversized books that are too big to fit on the regular shelving. If you need any assistance with these items, please don’t hesitate to reach out to a member of the Research Help team! You can learn more about the library's oversized book collection by watching this brief instructional YouTube video.
These computer workstations are available for searching Novanet, the library catalogue. There are Novanet tutorials on the library website for more guidance on how to search. You can always ask a member of the Research Help team for assistance with searching! Novanet computer workstations are found on both the second and third floors, as explained in this brief instructional YouTube video.
